Posted by: ButterflyMoms | August 12, 2009

Right Now…what does that mean?


Isabella with my sunglassesRight now, take a deep cleansing breath. Start connecting yourself to the “now”. Nothing to buy, make, fix, borrow, shift…just being here and noticing what is around you. From the moment we wake up each day our brain replays the same questions over and over again. Many times these are the questions that we have picked up from family, society, and the Land of Should. It is in these “unserving” questions where many of us get “stuck”, much like a broken record. By noticing this and changing the questions you move your life into a collection of “nows” that when joined together create the life you always dreamed about but never thought you’d have (unless you won the lottery ;).

So today dust off your dreams. Get excited about living again! This is the EARTH SCHOOL! Your goal is to feel good, have fun, and learn. Imagine that! No, really imagine it! All it takes is being in the “now”. Want me to share something I’ve been doing that has really helped?

Over the past few days when I get up and put my feet on the floor I think of the ONE thing I want to accomplish that day. That’s right! I said “one”, not 10! I must admit that being a mom of four and business owner, only “one” was hard to come up with and actually it took me a couple of days to be able to do it. Picking only one is part of the exercise. It’s about trusting and not living a crammed life. We are always so “busy”. There is a quote out there that we are all rushing towards our graves. What is the big hurry? Where are we rushing to? It is in the non-rushing that we find joy. That is when you get to savor people, lives, food, books, children, gifts, moments.

At the end of the day I sit in the same position after I’m done reading and before I’m about to go to sleep. I think of the one thing in my day that I did that I’m most happy  about. It might have nothing to do with what I set out to do. This also helps because many of us go to sleep thinking about everything that went wrong in our day. When this happens all our negative thoughts “simmer” all night long in our brains and we wake up not-so-happy. By going to sleep with a happy feeling in our hearts and brains we re-align with the kind of life that gives us meaning and purpose and joy! After 10 days you will see a major happy shift. Beware though because if you collect enough of those shifts,  you are going to align yourself to a happy, meaningful life by default and before you know it will spread to your kids, friends, family and even total strangers! Joy is very contagious! You have been warned! 😉

Responses

  1. Thank you, Maria, for such words of wisdom. It’s the simplest truths that we often forget . . . in this wild & ever-running world.

    I’m going to work on that “one accomplishment” concept. And the idea that what we go to bed w/in our head is what we wake w/is certainly a sobering concept–enough to make us re-think everything!

  2. You’re the best! Thank you for the invitation to join Butterfly Mom’s and again for keeping me interested.
    Somehow I feel my life is about to change for the better!

  3. Love you Ria! Thanks for the wonderful energy you always exude! Thanks for the virtual hugs and the great advice.

  4. Thank you for sharing your thoughts Maria. I am trying to simplify my life and your words of wisdom and encouragment always help!

  5. It is inspiring how you love to connect with people and make them feel special. Thank you for sharing your insight and revelations. I will try to embrace that good feeling you put out there and give your suggestions a try!


Leave a Reply

Categories

