Posted by: ButterflyMoms | May 21, 2010

Mommy Melt-Down At The Grocery Store…


“No Mama. I’m the Mama and you’re the baby,” my 2 year old proudly announced.

Ahhhhhhhh, here’s your life check in. How’s it going? Is it how you imagined it was going to go? 😉  This is the $10 trillion question (it used to be $10 million but I figure with inflation and all 😉 ).

How are you today? How are you feeling? This week, after meeting with my wishcraft group I have completed my commitment of writing for at least 15 minutes every day. It has felt glorious!!! I do have a lot on my plate with a real estate business (I’m the broker), a dry cleaning business I run with my husband, four kids (from 2 – 14) and all that entails ( I KNOW for most Moms I don’t have to describe what that means! ;)) My aunt is also visiting from London right now and so I’ve been trying to be the hostess with the mostest. It’s definitely a full platter so even though I’ve been writing about heart stuff I have “fallen off the wagon” as it were in terms of taking care of myself. I don’t know if it’s like this for you but I’m the low hanging fruit when it comes to cutting out when there is simply too much to do. When I run out of time I simply “make” more time by cutting out sleep. This week I returned to that scenario. It was not that getting up early was the problem, it was that I had my aunt and mom sleeping over here for the past week (and then my brother who came for a couple of days to say good-bye before he goes to Iraq) so it has been challenging to go to bed early knowing that these are SUCH precious memories that I don’t want to sleep through! I sacrificed sleep this week.
Ok, so I got great photos of the events (because things don’t really happen unless you take a photo of it don’t cha know! 😉 ) but THE CRASH came yesterday when I completely lost it at the grocery store. Yes, I was that woman that you tisk, tisk at because she is screaming at her kids. And the universe in its never-ending humor-seeking mode contributed to the parody by having bags rip and fruit rolling down the aisle and machines getting stuck and make EVERY bagger disappear! It really was a missed filming opportunity for a whole segment of America’s Funniest Videos.
I share this as a gentle reminder that we are all human. We all have different capacities but the society we live in, in 2010, we are expected to do more, remember more, recall more than even our mothers did when they were our age. Before the invention of the car most people only ever even travelled 20 miles from their original place of birth. After the car was invented it went to 100 miles. The pace of the world has GREATLY increased. We have more numbers and passwords and codes than ever before. We see more people in one day than our great grandmothers met in their whole lifetime so be kind to yourself. Take care of yourself. When something ICKY happens ask what you have to learn from it. It will either be a blessing in disguise or if you play the incident again and again in your head it will be another weight that will sink your soul. The good news is that YOU get to choose and this powerful ButterflyMoms blog just helped gentle remind you that you do have that choice.
Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
🙂 
Let’s see what you ButterflyMoms are doing out there. Take a moment to be heard…
Responses

  1. I hear ya! I get days like that. I have a 14 month old. It gets a bit much with 3 part-time jobs and a wacky schedule.
    I was in a rush (as usual) and got the cart at Shaw’s that had the “car” in the front. I can’t even push the wagon without hitting a display over, she’s hanging halfway out of it and then decides at checkout she can lean over and chew the steering wheel (EEEEEEEEEEWWWW).
    Your 15 minutes of blogging every night should be my 15 minutes of jewelry making. Good idea-Ill try. Thanks:) Daughter want “uppie” now so I have to go…

  2. Your dear brother will be in my thoughts and prayers! XOXOXO


Leave a Reply

Categories

