Posted by: ButterflyMoms | June 12, 2010

Are you Suffering from Anorexia of the SOUL?


Yesterday’s blog brought examples of some of the vast changes that are going on in our world. There are many, many shifts. Even with all these changes most of us currently live in a world where we are completely STARVING OUR SOULS!

PEEK A BOO! I SEE ME! DO YOU SEE YOU?

Think about it. What is your life based on, really? What is it based on? For many of us we live in an unconscious fog. We only really wake up when something NOTICEABLE happens like a death of someone or something, or an accident or illness. Otherwise, we completely alter our behavior and cut out our intuition to fit within the rules. 

At work most of us do whatever the company/boss tells us we have to do, even when we don’t like it. Let’s say they pay you $200,000/year. Although most of us make significantly less than that, let’s go with that number because it round and big. For that amount of money (or a  lot less) you give your power to a person/group of people who tell you how you will structure your time. When you will work, when you can have “off”, when you can be with your kids. Some even let you know when you can go to the bathroom or take a break. This is sooooooo widespread that people don’t even realize that it’s happening. They feel ICKY but they don’t know why………so off to Dunkin Donuts we go to get something caffeinated and sugary to help us make it through the day, right!

Most just follow along because that is just what everyone does. If you don’t then you are weird and sometimes it even gets you fired so make sure you fit into their box, ok? (breathe with me!) I know this is hard for some of you and some might even get angry but stay with it and see where it takes you. You are safe.

I hope you kindly allow me to share this little example…I once asked one of my brothers if he wanted to go to Europe with me. I had found CRAZY CHEAP airline tickets and had a FREE place to stay. He said, “I’d love to but I have no more vacation time.” Now for most people that sounds “normal” but think about it. “WORK” takes us the best hours of your day and the best days of your life.

Most of us tolerate where we work, what we do or both. (Breathe) How does that feel for you? I can hear your mind coming into the conversation already (because mine is too 😉 I’m not saying quit tomorrow, or even ever. I’m gently suggesting you bring your awareness to your situation. Is this how you want to live having to ask permission to do the things you want when you want to do them? (Feel the answer.)  How does it feel for you? Even if it feel ICKY stay with it. Use your breath. It is there to help you process stuff. No breathing. No moving through stuff. It’s that simple!

For a simple experiment stand on a major street at rush hour (morning or night) and look at the faces of the people commuting to work. How do they look? Are they feeding their souls? Are you feeding yours? If you find that you are feeling an ICKY here AWESOME! Go with it! You know that most of the people who are going to work look like they are super psyched right! They look happy and excited that they are going to “WORK”! WHEW WHO! YA! YES! YIPEE! YAHOEY!!! And driving home from work, even better, right? They are happy to have spent a precious day of their lives living with purpose, making a difference and doing what feels right to them…right? Right? Oh,….no?  We all know it’s the opposite. 😦 Again that Beatles song, “All the lonely people, where do they all come from?”

These people, like many of us, are suffering from ANOREXIA OF THE SOUL. We have starved our souls by ignoring them, by pushing them down when they popped up because it was socially unacceptable at the time. We made ourseleves small to fit in. We have learned to do that all our lives and then we wonder why drink, smoke, cheat, shop, eat…..(pick your poison). It’s because we miss ourselves! We act like we are human who occasionally have spiritual experience when in reality it’s the opposite. We are spirits/energy having a human experience!

What are some of your signs that you are suffering from Anorexia of the Soul? To have a better life, you have to start with AWARENESS, anything else is just a Band-Aid.

A gentle reminder that each time you come to www.ButterflyMoms.com you are feeding your soul! You are acknowledging it and asking what it needs. The voice might be very faint for some of you but keep at it. Your soul wants to talk to you. It wants you HAPPY! Just like with Aladin and the lamp, you are its master!

Some people don’t want to take the journey for fear of pain. Well, look around and ask is the pain of not being my TRUE me worth this feeling of constantly treading water? Don’t worry. Wherever you are is exactly where you are supposed to be! Because YOU are reading this perhaps you are ready for something a bit more…..oh, I don’t know…something a little bit more YOU?!

Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

PS Today we got 153 people to the site. AMAZING! One ButterflyMom Vice President told me she has changed her homepage to be the ButterflyMoms.com so she can start her day with the intention of feeding her soul. WHAT AN HONOR!! Keep spreading the word! Keep exploring YOU because YOU are THE most interesting person you will EVER meet! :)!

Responses

  1. Yet again, another amazing post. I am sitting here in a quiet house (doesn’t happen often with 4 children, a husband, a dog and a big business I run from home) feeding my soul and hopped on to read your post.

    I am soooo glad that you have brought this topic up today, it is my soapbox! I am so passionate about empowering women in particular to “create” the life that they want to live, including their work. We don’t need to live in the ‘robot’ world of 9 to 5, there are so many options out there. 6 years ago I woke up and realized that I didn’t want to just let life happen, I was on that hamster wheel thinking, I guess this is all there is, day in and day out. WOW, when I got what Maria is talking about here it transformed my life and my happiness.

    I feel so blessed that I found my opportunity, not only for myself but for my family, and I encourage ALL women and men to seek theirs out, we live in a different world today and we don’t need to go through the days ‘numb’ to what we WANT in our lives.

    A life is something we get to live, not just watch go by.

  2. Beautiful Joanne!

    You inspire me right back! I am thankful that you not only read the blog but also comment. It makes SUCH a huge difference! You are ADORED!

    Love,
    Mariaaaaaaaaaaa
    🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

