Posted by: ButterflyMoms | June 13, 2010

ButterflyMoms Life Lesson #25: What’s In Your Fridge?


We all mean well, but sometimes we don’t have a lot of time. I’m starting something new and fun for those who have limited time but want to get their SOUL fix for the day! Introducing BUTTERFLYMOMS LIFE LESSONS!!!!! You are one of the lucky FIRST readers! YAY!!!! I will keep it short and sweet so you get the maximum lesson in the shortest amount of time. Let’s see if this works. Please send your feedback! I love to hear from you! Now, onto the blog…ButterflyMoms Life Lesson #25: What’s In Your Fridge?

Last week I opened my refrigerator and was hit by one of those mystery smells that can curl your toes. Well, in my quest to find the culprit, I started taking out two containers, then three, then four, and then…..before I knew it, everything in the middle shelf was cleared out.ย  A deep, peaceful feeling came over me. ๐Ÿ™‚ AHHHHHHHHHHHH! I felt like I was getting rid of what was rotting/not working in my life. It felt so good! ย I wanted more!ย  My mind โ€œkindlyโ€ reminded me that I had a million things to do, but I just wanted to be there, right there in my kitchen, having fun cleaning my fridge. Itโ€™s the simple things that come up as you start becoming more aware. Fun is everywhere!

I decided to just do one more shelf, and, of course, you know that led to cleaning out the whole thing! It took about 45 minutes but it was awesome! Seeing everything in its place, clean and easily accessible, felt AMAZING!

The reverberation from that simple act affected me each and every time I have opened the refrigerator since then. This whole week my family has eaten better, have eaten at home more, and have wasted less food. Why? Because our refrigerator is now set up to serve our needs, not be just a dumping ground.

Today, as silly as it may sound, be aware of your refrigerator. What is in there? Do you still have condiments from the 1900’s? Wipe up the shelves. This is where a lot of your food is stored before you eat it. What does it look like? Is it serving you? Clean out at least one shelf of your fridge and notice how it feels. When we change little things like this, it shifts other things in our lives that are not working. Share what you find with the other ButterflyMoms here. Have fun!!!

Responses

  1. Love it! I have this obsession, I will not label it good or bad, of when I go food shopping, before I put the new food in I HAVE to clean out the old food. I agree Maria, it makes all the difference in how you eat and when you have less clutter and mess in your physical space, it opens you up for so much more! Now, if I attacked the pantry the same way we would be on to something! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hey Beautiful Joanne!

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful energy with us again today! YOU soooooo rock! So from what you just wrote are you saying that you are ok with holding yourself and your energy back by NOT “attacking” the pantry? ๐Ÿ˜‰ How about doing one shelf today. YUP, I said “today”. Go with the lesson in front of you. From your post I wonder how much energy got cleared off in people’s lives because YOU, beautiful Joanne, had the courage to write about what you are really feeling, and not what is publicly acceptable!

  3. OK – one shelf DONE today! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

