Posted by: ButterflyMoms | June 24, 2010

Reaching for the STARS with a Broken Heart!!!!!!


BELIEVE!!!!!

Hey Beautiful ButterflyMoms!

First I want to apologize for being M.I.A. for a couple of days. The blog software was acting VERY funky. I wrote an entire blog and when I tried to download photos it would not let me. I tried for hours (yes, I’m stubborn that way) and then the software glitch of the photos “ate” my blog (YUP! That is the technical term for it ;)) Needless to say I was bit bummed, especially because I had no time left to do another one. (These blogs take at least a couple of hours to write each time.) Now onto the real part of the blog…

WOW! I am completely humbled by the outpour of love and support a couple of days ago at the four year anniversary of our Sophia’s death. It was an emotional few days. Each year I never know what “flavor” the day will take. This year I wanted to ride the energy of this time of year and do something I’ve been dreaming of doing since I was a child. It all started when I got an email from a friend saying I should apply to the Oprah contest for having your own talk show. I was busy. I get a lot of emails. I added it to my TO DO PILE where things go to die. 😉 That same day I get another email from another friend about the same thing. Wow! Two in one day! That was cool and I wanted to do it but my screaming kids and work were still pulling me harder than my dream. The universe, forever patient, kept at it. Over the next three days four more people (who don’t even know each other) emailed me the Oprah contest with a chorus of “YOU should do this!” or “This would be perfect for you!” or “I can totally see you do this!” Six people!  How could I resist, I ask you? I decided then to unpack a dream I had kept deep inside of me, cocooning until all the right circumstances would arise. In these moments you want to pinch yourself because there were days when you could not picture your dreams coming true. Since I was a little kid I had dreamed about having my own talk show. I love the camera. I love people. I had no idea how I would do that. You don’t exactly go to talk show university so other things got in the way and my life played out the way it has. I started realizing when I was in Chicago a few weeks ago that many of the careers I had were all to prepare me for this. That thought was a WAVE OF KNOWING that washed over me as I was in the lobby of the Chicago Sheraton. It felt wonderful!

THE TAPING

The whole process/journey together seemed overwhelming so I broke it down into steps. First, I tried to find out how much it cost to get it professionally done. It was WAY too expensive, especially just for a 3 minute video. Plus, I would have been disappointed had I not done it myself. I think creativity is a vital part of this journey.  Our spiritual side is made from ENERGY and CREATING is what energy does. It loves doing it! If you are not doing creative things in your life you are cutting off your “spiritual oxygen”.

BTW, your mini assignment today is do something CREATIVE. You must use items you already own and that are around your office or home. Paint, glue, color, cut, Lego, draw…pick your creative outlet and have at it. If you are having trouble starting just tell yourself you will only do it for 15 minutes and see what happens! Give yourself some extra FUN energy! It’s even more powerful than caffeine!!! J

Second, I had to find and HD camcorder (translation: HELLO WORLD! HERE ARE ALL MY LINES & WRINKLES!!! HOORAY!!!! ;)). I was reminded of the power of ASKING for what we want. Out of the blue three kind souls offered they magic creating machines to me!

One of my number one fans!!! 😉

Thirdly, I requested/begged a designer friend of mine to film at Brick House Realty’s office. Now the cool thing is that I have been on a few television sets, been on TV and done modeling so I understand a bit about what one needs to bring. I had a little MARKETBASKET plastic bag with two simple changes of clothing, two necklaces, mascara, eye liner, lipstick and my Italian red patent leather hoochie mama shoes. I have not worn make-up in a year or more but learned the basics a long time ago! I had forgotten that and it felt good. Since I don’t usually wear make-up when I do people think I got a facelift or something! It’s very funny! J

Next, the contest rules are VERY specific about lighting, sound, etc. We filmed for about two hours. When I reviewed the tape I was disappointed to find that the lighting was not the best and the street sounds were picked up during the filming. We realized we could not film there. We asked a local photographer friend of ours if we could use his photo studio and he agreed. The four hours of film footage we got there (two cameras rolling simultaneously) was awesome as was the sound.

There were many side roads and tribulations in this whole process so far, times when I just thought that maybe quitting was my next direction. I knew I’d regret that so I kept on keeping on, as they say in American folk songs. 😉

This whole process was about asking for what I needed. It was a wonderful series of exercises about going with the flow of what is there and not what I wanted to be there. I realize that part of being happy on this planet is to know WHEN it’s a good time to PUSH ON and NOT ACCEPT what is going on AND WHEN IT’S TIME to GO WITH THE FLOW!

Two nights ago I pulled an all-nighter so I could edit the video. This entire process has been an act of L-O-V-E!!! You are now officially a direct part of making this dream come true because you have been so supportive! Oprah is having a contest for people who want their own talk show. I made a video that just went up two days ago Tuesday night and therefore we are way behind the others who have millions of votes because they started in May!  I worked really hard to create this video and now comes the stage where I need help promoting it. I know you are super busy but I humbly ask for your help in making this miracle happen! Here’s how:

The Opera Winfrey Network (OWN) contest is designed for people to vote multiple times at once (like 101) so please go back & vote as many times as you can every day July 3! REALLY NEED YOUR HELP to continue the momentum of the SNOWBALL WE HAVE CREATED so please:

  1. Vote as many times as you can-at least 101/day would be awesome 😉 (BTW, they only update votes every hour so when you vote the number won’t change to you but it is being counted)
  2. Send friends an email offering them to be a part of this adventure 😉
  3. Post it on your Facebook, Twitter, MySpace, LinkedIn, etc.
  4. Make it a game and involve others. We only have a few days to attract this miracle! :)!

THANKS for helping me live my dream! This is FUN…thanks for being a part of it!!!! Let’s build the momentum of our SNOWBALL but reaching out to others and voting! Our goal is 2 million votes by July 3.

My friend Corinne wrote, “Please read below, view clip, VOTE-VOTE-VOTE… FWD-FWD-FWD to others striving to achieve their goals and PRAY-PRAY-PRAY.”

Here’s the link…. http://myown.oprah.com/audition/index.html?request=video_details&response_id=13674&promo_id=1

If the link doesn’t work go to “oprah.com to” “your own show” and look up “THE MARIA SHOW” by “Maria Salomao-Schmidt”!

Thank you for being part of this MIRACLE!

Great big hugs,

Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

BELIEVE!!!

🙂

Responses

  1. As I’ve said many times before. I’m really proud of you for making your dream a reality. I am here for you to support you in whatever you need me to do. Love you.

  2. Many thanks from the heart. You are a wonderful person in your mind, spirit and soul. I love everything!

    I am happy to be here. And part of this interesting concept for mothers and family to be.
    I am quite negligible for this important issue of life. and I am proud and happy that the dream of ButterflyMoms’s Blog
    its performance is found. Great Big Hugs! In love … Hilde


Leave a Reply

Categories

