Posted by: ButterflyMoms | July 17, 2010

I am the Mistress of My FATE…..I am the Captain of My SOUL!


Hello Beautiful ButterflyMoms,

I’ve been having a lot of issues getting connected to the web over the last few days so to all of those who wrote I will respond, promise. It will just take me a little longer than I’d like! 😉

Yesterday I went to see the movie INVICTUS! WOW! WOW! WOW! Again it was at the outdoor theater in the Parque das Conchas in Lisboa, Portugal, under the beautiful stars. AHHHHHHHH! It was not the best directed movie, sorry Clint Eastwood, but the message is soooooo powerful. For us who are actively looking to build our SOUL STRENGTH, it was very powerful true story of how one person, through deep forgiveness can change an entire country, even the world! “I AM THE CAPTAIN OF MY SOUL!” is one of the lines from a poem Nelson Mandela read during his 27 years of capture and torture! The poem is called “Invictus“. It is a short Victorian poem written by the English poet William Earnest Henley in 1875. Nelson Mandela used this poem to give him strength when he thought he had no hope left. It can also be a gift to you if  you let it be. It’s up to you. Read it slowly and take it in…

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds and shall find me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

Even with all this hate around him President Mandela choose peace from his core. It is SUCH a powerful message!

I am taken back to circa 1987 when I was a sophomore at Boston College and was wondering what this “APARTEID” was. I kept hearing about it but did not really know what it was. It was through musicians writing music about it that I began paying attention to what was going on. I highly recommend you look up APARTEID and see what lessons you can pick up. What happens in the macro (world) also happens on a smaller reverberation in the micro (your own life). This man, through what he learned CHANGED A WHOLE COUNTRY. If we apply those same principles we can do the same thing to our lives! If you can look at it without being in the LAND OF SHOULD and find the examples of how you in your own life are abusing yourself and limiting your potential then you will have found your pot of gold. (Wow, did I just go from talking about South Africa to “leprechauns”?!  It’s all that Irish influence at Boston College! 😉 )

I find myself wanting to read a lot more about Nelson Mandela. Sometimes as we get up and mindlessly go through life we forget that others have lived before us for thousands of years and through books we can get help learning lessons. Whoever you are attracted to in history pick up a book today and read, read, read. Building up your mind’s ability to see allows you to better use your sixth senses plus gives you amazing insight on what lessons are out there to guide you have a more SOUL-FULL adventure!

May you have a FANTASTIC WEEKEND!! May you remember to BREATHE DEEPLY!! May you remember to have FUN!!!

Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

PS Read some past ButterflyMoms blogs and comment on them. You will always pick the perfect one for you! 😉

Responses

  1. I saw this film last year, absolutely incredible. It gave me the understanding of what was going on in Africa. Lately, I too, have been thinking of other world leaders, what was in them that brought forth who they became ie: Sister Terasa, Mandella, Ghandi, Golda Mier, and in each case there seemed to be an neverending call to a certain level of service to humanity. From where? all I can figure based on the films that I saw was when an individual wakes each day with a true yearning and desire to be open to things around them, a calling comes through, a message.
    While most of us become so busy in our day to day lives, I came to discover that those that are called upon to this level of humanity- they are the foundation of the message that others will hear the way they can, and then that trickels down into thier lives. I thought alot about this process with modern day humanitarians ie: Williamson, Hay, Dyer, etc. They each experienced a strong desire to question.. to question thier own soul, to question their path. As a result a message was heard , they let themselves be guided by that message, and as a result… the message they had they brought out into the world for others to hear. As this happened, those that listened to the message brought from that what they could into their own lives..
    I often wondered why we dont get or do on the level of these individuals. And then I saw… Those are called on the first level to bring it to others on thier level, then from that level it gets applied where it does..
    An amazing journey at best. So, from all these humanitarians , they had messages, and where they were heard was where others developed thier own message. Through blogs, through music, through tragedies turning into healing and triumph… May the nucleus of the message always be delivered, may that deliverence continue to bring forth all the work that it intended…

    • What a brilliant response beautiful Stan! WOW! You have MUCH to share with the world. I see it. I have always seen it in you. I invite you to share that more with the world with a fully open heart and without the fear of what others might say or think about it…just like Nelson Mandela did.

      I adore the gift of having you in my life and warn you that I’m coming to NY to see you before the year is out!

      MWAH!

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  2. Think about this Maria, you are not schooled in psycology, psychiatry, counseling, anything studies like these, but the manner in which you write sends a very powerful message. The process by which these thoughts come to you make you uniquely gifted to help others. Proud to know and love you, thanks for sharing….your friend Janelle.

    • I might not have gotten degrees in these things but I’ve been studying them for decades. I never really FIT IN anywhere but always had a gift for connecting to people. These two factors helped build my hunger for answers. I found them in Louise Hay, Wayne Dyer, Napolean Hill, Og Mandino, Marianne Williamson, Jack Canfield, etc. There are many greats out there. I’ve been feeding my mind and soul this information for decades. The death of Sophia helped me understand that it was time to share it with others so that I can influence them like I was deeply influenced. There is a part of me that cringes when I write this because I wonder what people will think but quite honestly I no longer care. I just don’t want to be on my death bed feeling the pain of having lived SMALL! THAT WOULD BE TORTUROUS!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  3. Maria, thank you for sharing this with us! It is amazing and very thought provoking…I reaaly felt the poem and imagined Nelson Mandella in prison reading it over and over…HE is amazing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

