Posted by: ButterflyMoms | September 9, 2010

IT IS TIME…..To WALK THE WALK….


Dearest ButterflyMoms,

My journey of 1,000 miles (literally) begins with this email!

DEEP BREATH! Lots has been going on! I have found that the more I write the more I figure out stuff for myself, and bonus – for lots of moms and dads out there! It is SUCH a cool gift to share with the world! Well all this along with my finishing my first year of the Rhys Thomas Energy Medicine School has completely helped me hear my soul’s calling. Sharing with you is part of that wonderful gift! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! :)! Things can only hurt us if they are in the dark, festering. Thank you to all those who shared publicly and privately their deepest ickies and triumphs. We have been inspired by what people have written and it has fed our souls.

Well, this path has led me to a place I could never have imagined. I have shared it with very few because I’m been trying to give my brain time to process it. The “orders” came from my soul… J! I promised I’d let you know what big brewings were coming our way and now as Rafiki, the wise baboon in Lion King, says, “It is time.”

When I got back from my retreat, I sat down with Doug and watched an Oprah Show he had taped for me. Again I got that longing feeling to be ON the show.

SIDE NOTE: Key Point Here: When we a longing we don’t understand, we tend to divert our attention or numb out with TV/getting busy/cleaning/shopping/shop lifting/cheating/over-eating/drugs/alcohol…you get the drift. It happens to all of us. It is a coping mechanism when we don’t actively use it as a tool for bringing awareness to a feeling. The feeling feels icky so we numb out. Next time that happens, ask what that feeling has come to teach you. Take out the JUDGEMENT of yourself, just as you don’t judge how well a baby walks when she first starts. Think of how “silly” that would be. Be kind with yourself, as this is new to most of us because in this culture we are not taught how to hear our soul. Most of us are just learning that we even can!)

What I have learned is that LONGING to be on The Oprah Show was from my soul. My brain could care less if I get on it. I have a sneaky suspicion that it has even been blocking it because it does not want to feel the rejection if it does not happen. The soul feels no rejection because it just lives in LOVE and ALIGNMENT!

Now back to sitting on the couch with cutie pie Doug 😉 He suggested that I email the producer at The Oprah Show that I’ve been working with and get an update. I went right to my computer and did. The producer emailed me right back with the following message:

Hi Maria,

Everyone was touched by your story. Trying to find a show in which we can feature you.

Will keep you posted. Please keep checking with me.

Regards,

I loved that he responded right away but it was not good enough, or rather I knew that was not FIT for me. I sat back asked the universe what it would take. I have found that this really works…you just have to be ready to listen to some “interesting” answers….The answer I got back was “If you really want to get on the Oprah Show simply start walking.” I immediately knew that meant LITERALLY walking to Chicago. I know that is the answer because I could hardly sleep all night! I was soooooooooooo energized by the thought. I have held it in for over a week. I even checked it out with my doctor and have started training

Ok, so, Chicago is 1,000 miles! So although I’m still playing with what this is going to look like I am planning on leaving October 5 after my beautiful niece Emily gets married in Key West. I will be biking and walking doing about 35-40 miles a day. I added the biking because it would normally take someone about 3 months to walk to Chicago. It is a HUGE sacrifice for me to be away from my kids, especially my youngest who is only two so I’m adding the biking and maybe even a ride on “THE DOG” (Greyhound bus if things get out of hand) so I can keep it to a month. Just like when you go into labor, you have a plan and then are open to what will happen.

While on the journey I plan on interviewing Moms asking them what they do to feed their souls. I will be sending at least daily updates of where I am. I am leaving my family so that I can follow one of my deepest dreams. It will be cold but I will have all of you to keep me warm! :)!

I used to be in public relations for almost 20 years so I will be sending out press releases with the help of my friend Heather. Another friend knows several very large media outlets and has even put in a call a friend of his, the governor of Illinois!!! Things are just falling into place. I can totally see this being something that is picked up which is awesome because it’s all about LOVE! WOW, I am in awe of all that is unfolding! Soooooooo cool! (and SOOOOOOO VERY SCARY TOO – just like when I jumped out of a plane at 10,000ft – the only way to do it is just go on instinct and turn the brain off 😉 FEEL the FEAR and DO IT ANYWAY!!!

I need your help beautiful ButterflyMoms. You have been sooooooooo instrumental in this whole journey! We have created an incredible community here and I love that. I call upon your intuition now. If you have any ideas, suggestions, contacts I’d LOVE them. I need someone to lend me an RV so someone can drive while I walk. If you know anyone who wants to buy/sell a house (for those of you who don’t know I own Brick House Realty). I need to make as much money as I can, so any leads (even out of state –where I could do referrals) would really help. If you know anyone in the sneaker or athletic apparel I could really use some donations there too. If you know anyone at Whole Foods or Trader Joes who could donate healthy food. If you know anyone who does bodywork and can help direct me in the best way to plan my walking/riding stretching, etc. If you know of any appropriate sponsors that would be awesome too! What am I missing? I’m open to seeing how it unfolds.

People have asked me if I will be supporting a cause. My answer is YES but not a monetary one. I want to remind Mommies from Boston to Chicago and all over the world to nurture their souls. My goal is to walk the walk, literally and figuratively. I will keep moving forward towards my goal of Oprah (walking/riding a bike) while doing yoga, reading, interviewing/connecting with people, blogging, doing interviews, eating nutritious foods. Part of the journey is to live life as I dream of it. It is to BE THE FIRE THAT IGNITES PEOPLE’S SOULS, especially moms. I will be sharing the stories of my adventures and those of who I meet with you. This is my warrior’s journey and I’m soooooo thrilled that you will be sharing it with me! (if you want to, of course!)

Great big hugs,

Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

Responses

  1. Go Maria go!!!

  2. Wow!!!! That was the last thing I expected to read!!!

    I guess you are you missing the first class of HTP2 from what I gather or have you decided not to take it this year?

    I wish you the best on your coolest journey yet. Takes real guts!!! (and/or craziness?)

    Love,

    Linda D.

    P.S. Call me, OK?

    • Hey Beautiful Linda!

      I adore you! I get you! I will be doing the HTP2 class and missing the first one. I’m going to do my homework on my travels though! 😉

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  3. Oh sweet Maria! Loving yourself enough to do what your heart and soul wishper to you- I could not wish for a greater gift for anyone to themselves.
    Walk, rock, ride or roll, take it in stride, break out of your mold
    and fashion a life- the one you had as a child, and bring it to real time for all to behold.

    Blessing to you sister.

    • Beautiful Signe,

      Your comments light my heart on fire. Thank you for reaching out. I had a talk with my mom today and she is so scared of things like this and how it comes out is in attacks. I know she means well but it…well, it is what it is and your comments definitely help, a lot!!!

      LOVE TO YOU!
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  4. Concrats !! I am In !!
    If you need a driver/chef/friend/ I am in 100%

    To help you !! It be will be part of me giving back to the wonderful life god has blessed me with thus far !!

    I wont take money !!

    I just want to be part of it !!

    I believe you need to help the souls around you to help them help the souls around them !!

    Pay it Forward and your my Forward !!!

    • Thanks beautiful Al! YOU ROCK! First we need to find a ride. Know anyone who would lend us their RV for a month or so?

      • Already working on it !!

  5. Awesome Maria!

    Here are a couple of resources and links to people I know who have been on similar journeys for different reasons. You may find the tools they use and approaches helpful.

    Chris Sacca bicycled coast-to-coast last year. You can see his blog and tweets, etc. at whatisleft.org.

    My friend Patrick Combs does regular video posts on Facebook, which I can see you doing something similar. Check him out at http://www.facebook.com/PatrickLive?v=app_2392950137&ref=ts

    You will be so wonderful.

  6. Maria,
    You INSPIRE me! I LOVE you! Knowing you have brought me so much excitement. Oh, I love it!
    xoxoxoxoxoxo ***moi***

  7. Congratulations on your decision. You are going to learn so much about yourself. I’m just so happy for you.

    Looking forward to the updates!

  8. Ok…You out the new soin on never having regrets or saying i wish i had!!!
    Go for it!
    Call me and i will give you my nutrition advice!!!
    Nancy Sibley can help and guide you in the proper waliking tech!
    Kevin Quinn can help you in the shoe department!
    Big hugs!

  9. What are you doing with Mia?

    • Hey Beautiful Mary,

      She and my other daughters and son will be here with their dad. 🙂

      Big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaa
      🙂

      • Ah…well, I hope you have another wonderful someone accompanying you then! Best of luck!

  10. Maria, I am very glad you reach out to me and asked to be my friend. Not sure why you did as we have only one friend in common. Catarina.

    I usually ignore requests from strangers, but your invitation intrigued me. What could we possibly have in common. I am Portuguese, my father was born in New Bedford, Massachussetts and you and have both adopted children who have brought so much joy to our lives.

    I am also very committed to helping Moms to give voice to their unspoken dreams. My youngest son is now 18, and has special needs. While he struggled, I struggled. Thank God, we have both emerged stronger. He helped me to realize that to help Robert most effectively, I had to devote time and energy to myself first. Self reflection and following ones dreams is essential to all Moms. In the process, we emerge as beautify butterfly moms as you say. I have seen my life transform as I seek to be the best role model I can be.

    I adopted Robert and his sister Sandra 15 years from Latvia and what a life we have have shared-many more highs and lows than I could have ever have imagined. I adopted his oldest brother 23 years ago and can honestly say my life has been truly enriched beyond measure, thanks to the support of wonderful husband and friends who supported me and all of us.

    You, my dear, are definitely on track, living your dreams and reaching out to others. I look forward to hearing from you again. I live in Northern VA. Should your journey bring you to the Washington DC area, I would love to meet with you. With much appreciation,
    Doreen

    • Beautiful Doreen!
      What a lovely thing to write! I’m soooo inspired by you and what you wrote. This journey has given me sooooo many amazing gifts. You are definitely one of them! I look forward to “bonding” and learning about each other over FB for now. If you feel like coming for a mile or too take a road trip!
      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

      • Maria,
        I can’t wait to learn more about you. I would love to learn more about you and the message you need to share with Oprah and her viewers. Is there a particular blog post, I should read? Do you have a website? I want to write a book about Moms who are in Motion and would love to feature you on my blog, upcoming newsletter and website.
        With much love and appreciation,
        D

  11. Wow! I am in awe of you. What a gutsy lady! How about a Facebook page about your Journey, or a You tube video? I can’t help with any of those connections, but rest assured I’ll be there in spirit and soul. Hugs!

  12. Maria- Go Go Go!!!! You are leaving your footprints all over our hearts- and apparently will be leaving them over a significant part of the USA! Love to you and your dreams. YOU make them reality. Hugs! I’ll join you in Ohio!

  13. Mariaaaa…YOU my friend are an example to all of us mom’s to follow your dreams, to listen to your soul, to feed it daily and to be THE example for the universe! I LOVE WHAT YOU ARE DOING!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will be there with you, praying for you and supporting you in any way I can (Doug, we will absolutely have you and the kids over for dinner!)

    I LOVE that you are on this journey and that I get the privilege to share it with you.

    Just remember, people are going to think you are nuts, that is their right, but it is about THEM and THEIR programs and FEARS! I love that you are FEELING THE FEAR AND DOING IT ANYWAYS!!!!! What an incredible example you are setting for your beautiful children…what a legacy you will leave in this world. Love you!!!!!

  14. Maria hon, I will contribute to your cause and help supply healthy foods. What size shoes do you wear I’ll email you. I am here for you!!! Your friend..Janelle

  15. Stop in Detroit for some home cooking! We would love to have you…
    Beth

  16. Blaze on Beautiful Maria!
    Feel the fear and do it anyway is something I tell all my students (especially at recitals) and is my own mantra.
    You will be empowered by every step you take, and we will be empowered by your taking us along on your journey.
    With love,
    Myrna

  17. Wow!! You are facing the fear and going for it! We’re ALL with you on you’re journey and there will be a WAY. I’ll be watching you on Oprah!
    Best Wishes,
    April

  18. Wow! I just read this- you are soooo very brave. I wish I was ready to buy a house to help you but it’s not time yet. I would love to design a piece of jewelry for your journey! Please keep us posted! Sometime I’ll stop by brickhouse when I go to Fiskes with my little one. Good luck!

  19. Maria,
    You wild crazy girl you. I love you and so admire your courage and strength. Couple of thoughts came to mind. A get togethr of your HTP classmates so we can brainstorm for you and mapping out hotels along the way that will put you up for the night for free. Just some thoughts.
    Oh, I’ve got goosebumps just thinking ablout how your living your dream!!!
    Love you
    Sandy

  20. I will be reading!!! wow

  21. Hello sweet, crazy, magnificent, exuberant Maria! Be sure to send me whatever press releases are going out and I’ll see about get you some European press coverage. You are indeed a fire that ignites souls, thank you for your brilliant light and love. xo

  22. How did I JUST NOW find this post?
    I’ll meet you en route and bring sandwiches. Maybe a tent. XOXOXO

  23. So did you ever do this walk? I don’t read your column each week, but i read some of them, and i never saw a column about you doing the walk or being on Oprah. Did i miss it, or did you have a change of plans?
    I am just going through the old ones i haven’t read, so i can delete them and free the space. anywayz, i hope you got to do your walk.

  24. […] IT IS TIME…..To WALK THE WALK…. September 2010 31 comments 5 […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

