Posted by: ButterflyMoms | October 1, 2010

Greetings from Key West!


Dearest ButterflyMoms,

Today I’m writing from Key West Florida. We are here for our beautiful niece’s wedding. On the way down here was an adventure. There is one story though that I think will help feed your soul today. Because of a storm we were stuck on the runway in Boston for an extra couple of hours so we missed our connecting flight in Miami. When we got to Miami we were told to go to Gate 37 to rebook. There we found several plane loads of people whose flights had all been affected by the storm. As the line creeped up I noticed a mom with a baby boy strapped to the front of her, and the other bags that she managed to hold on to. She was standing in line sobbing quietly. It touched my heart. No one seemed to notice. I kept looking back at her at the end of the line until suddenly I realized I was standing in front of her. I asked her to come with me and immediately took her to where I was in line which was much closer to the front. LESSON TWO: Rules are about “intention”. Some may say that cutting in line is “wrong” but in this situation it was “kind”.

“Are you ok?” I asked her. “Can I get you water or something to eat?” She thanked me and said, “No.” LESSON ONE: Sometimes when you ask for help and someone gives it to you, first, NOTICE it, then TAKE it! 😉  Anastasia said that her flight to New York had been canceled and that she was supposed to fly to Russia that evening. I immediately went to who looked the leader of the American Airlines agents and asked for help. Pilar told me the next agent would take her, that did not happen so then I asked the people in front of us if she could go ahead of them. They acted in a way that totally pushed all my buttons.

They did not even look up. They just more mumbled and gave a sign of dismissal that they needed to go first and they would not help her. BREATHE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In the meantime Anatasia never stops quietly crying. As a mom, many of us have been there. We are in situations especially when we have our children with us where we need the kindness of strangers to step up. When that did not happen this time I went into judgement mode. For my healing school class I’m reading, “Loving What Is” and in that moment I stopped my normal behavior which was to CONFRONT “those” people and ATTEMPT to see them WHERE THEY WERE, NOT WHERE I WAS.

To be honest I gave them a lot of my energy because I was deep in the LAND OF SHOULD. They should have helped her. What kind of people are they? I hope their plane crashes……yah dah yah dah yah dah. All those thoughts came to me and many, many, many more like them. I stood there literally standing back and observing how I was reacting, how I was adding more hate instead of love into my world and our world. I did not want that but it did feel good to be “right” and “righteous”. It also felt sad and lonely too, especially when the HIGH wore off.

I don’t know what happened with Anastasia and her cute little boy but I did the best I could with what I had which is also precisely what that couple did. I thank them for showing up and helping me learn this lesson.

Great big hugs,

Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

Responses

  1. “When that did not happen this time I went into judgement mode. For my healing school class I’m reading, “Loving What Is” and in that moment I stopped my normal behavior which was to CONFRONT “those” people and ATTEMPT to see them WHERE THEY WERE, NOT WHERE I WAS.”

    Thanks Maria! I have been struggling with this book. Ya think it has less to do with the writing and more to do with my stuff! See you soon, and love you!!!
    N


Leave a Reply

Categories

