Posted by: ButterflyMoms | November 2, 2010

SPECIAL EDITION: CALL TO ACTION ….TODAY Marks the 90th Anniversary of American Women’s Right to VOTE!!! CELEBRATE BY VOTING!


Dearest ButterflyMoms,

Although I usually only write on Fridays and it’s now almost 2:00 am, I feel compelled to write on this truly amazing day!!!! It is hard to believe but Ninety years ago TODAY American women FINALLY got the right to vote. (take a deep breath) (Think about that! That is not even 100 years!!! We know people older than that so it’s within their lifetime! AMAZING!) If you don’t know the history of our right to vote please read up on it! It is worth learning about! (Little more history below to get your started.)

Today is election day and there is a battle right now still going on! It has moved from the actual issues like education, health care, jobs, etc to hatred and fear. I am well aware that by sharing this on ButterflyMoms that I may be accused of spreading that fear BUT I’m doing this with an open heart. One of the biggest asset of a ButterflyMom is that she can turn into whatever she needs to, to protect her clan. Sometimes she is a warrior when she needs to be, that is part of her power. She just does not “live there” but rather only “goes there” when it is necessary. Well, ButterflyMoms today it is necessary!

What is happening now in American politics is one of those times. There is so much NOISE that some people turn off, that is part of the reason why a small number of people have managed to start controlling so much! In the face of such troubling information many of us are like zombies from the movie, “Night of the Living Dead”. I personally cannot stand quiet when I see the injustice, bigotry, racism and lies that are being spread mainly by the Republican party. Now I’m an Independent and have voted for both Republicans and Democrats, but for the last few years Republicans have entered deeper into a world of hatred, fear and greed. They are trying to turn America into that same terrifying place. They are backed by money, big, big, big money and ignorance. I used to work in high level public relations and in my professional opinion I can see the strategy behind this a million miles away. Karl Rove, Dick Cheney, Steve Forbes are all behind the Tea Party movement and this resurgence of pure hatred, fear and control. This is NOT ACCEPTABLE! As a mother I ask you to watch this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ydyOTADrCFc to see what I mean with your own eyes.

In honor of the women (and men) who sacrificed their lives for you and gave you one of the greatest gifts, the gift of being counted and being heard, the simple right to vote,  I ask that you vote today! I have a vision of an America where we can all live in peace and love, that is why I created ButterflyMoms. Your vote will help bring us closer to that future for our world. They can only succeed if the rest of us stay asleep,confused, tired, uninformed and complacent. Please vote AND share this information. We only have today! YOU CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE! If everyone did just a little……it starts with YOU!

I LOVE YOU for reading this entire entry. It is written in the memory of all the women who literally died for our right to vote. Today I will honor them and invite you to join me!

Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaa
🙂

Two wonderful friends of mine Jan Krause and Joan Hunt sent me this email below. I had to find the photos myself online but I thought the photos are worth it. I’ve also seen the movie which gave me an incredible appreciation for my right to vote, something most of us all take for granted….As the En Vogue song says, “FREE YOUR MIND AND THE REST WILL FOLLOW…” Thank you for the gift of having passed on such a treasure beautiful Jan and Joan!!!!! You never know how your “magic” will affect the world! Keep on spreading the LOVE!

This is the real life story of our Mothers and Grandmothers who lived only 90 years ago. Remember, it was not until 1920 that women were granted the right to go to the polls and vote. The women were innocent and defenseless, but they were jailed nonetheless for picketing the White House, carrying signs asking for the vote. And by the end of the night, they were barely alive. Forty prison guards wielding clubs and their warden’s blessing went on a rampage against the 33 women wrongly convicted of ‘obstructing sidewalk traffic.’

(

Lucy Burns)
They beat Lucy Burns, chained her hands to the cell bars above her head and left her hanging for the night, bleeding and gasping for air.

(Dora Lewis)
They hurled Dora Lewis into a dark cell, smashed her head against an iron bed and knocked her out cold. Her cell mate, Alice Cosu, thought Lewis was dead and suffered a heart attack. Additional affidavits describe the guards grabbing, dragging, beating, choking, slamming, pinching, twisting and kicking the women.

Thus unfolded the ‘Night of Terror’ on Nov. 15, 1917, when the warden at the Occoquan Workhouse in Virginia ordered his guards to teach a lesson to the suffragists imprisoned there because they dared to picket Woodrow Wilson’s White House for the right to vote. For weeks, the women’s only water came from an open pail. Their food–all of it colorless slop–was infested with worms.

(Alice Paul)
When one of the leaders, Alice Paul, embarked on a hunger strike, they tied her to a chair, forced a tube down her throat and poured liquid into her until she vomited. She was tortured like this for weeks until word was smuggled out to the press.

So, refresh MY memory. Some women won’t vote this year because – Why, exactly? We have carpool duties? We have to get to work? Our vote doesn’t matter? It’s raining?

Mrs Pauline Adams in the prison garb she wore while serving a 60 day sentence.
Last week, I went to a sparsely attended screening of HBO’s new movie ‘Iron Jawed Angels.’ It is a graphic depiction of the battle these women waged so that I could pull the curtain at the polling booth and have my say. I am ashamed to say I needed the reminder.

Miss Edith Ainge, of Jamestown ,   New York
All these years later, voter registration is still my passion. But the actual act of voting had become less personal for me, more rote. Frankly, voting often felt more like an obligation than a privilege. Sometimes it was inconvenient.

(Berthe Arnold, CSU graduate)
My friend Wendy, who is my age and studied women’s history, saw the HBO movie, too. When she stopped by my desk to talk about it, she looked angry. She was–with herself. ‘One thought kept coming back to me as I watched that movie,’ she said. ‘What would those women think of the way I use, or don’t use, my right to vote? All of us take it for granted now, not just younger women, but those of us who did seek to learn.’ The right to vote, she said, had become valuable to her ‘all over again.’

HBO released the movie on video and DVD . I wish all history, social studies and government teachers would include the movie in their curriculum I want it shown on Bunco/Bingo night, too, and anywhere else women gather. I realize this isn’t our usual idea of socializing, but we are not voting in the numbers that we should be, and I think a little shock therapy is in order.

Conferring over ratification of the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution at  National Woman’s Party headquarters, Jackson Place , Washington , D.C.
Left to right: Mrs. Lawrence Lewis, Mrs. Abby Scott Baker, Anita Pollitzer,  Alice Paul, Florence Boeckel,  Mabel Vernon (standing, right))

It is jarring to watch Woodrow Wilson and his cronies try to persuade a psychiatrist to declare Alice Paul insane so that she could be permanently institutionalized. And it is inspiring to watch the doctor refuse. Alice Paul was strong, he said, and brave. That didn’t make her crazy.

The doctor admonished the men: ‘Courage in women is often mistaken for insanity.’

Please, if you are so inclined, pass this on to all the women you know.  We need to get out and vote and use this right that was fought so hard for by these very courageous women. Remember to vote.

We often don’t make time to study history. I hope learning about the 19th Amendment and those “terrorists” and “traitors” (the Iron Jawed Angels as they were called) who courageously battled for it! Go share what you learned. Information can be soooo fun!

Dora Lewis Released From Prison

Responses

  1. A wonderful job!..Thank you for asking me to read ….I am truly inspired!

  2. Hello My Dear Maria,

    Your efforts are appreciated!! Thanks for sharing the startling story above. Your message at 2 am was worth it.

    I never truly appreciated the torture the women endured to get the opportunity to vote, till I read your posting.

    Seeing the video you posted shakes me at my core. While I intended to vote before getting your message, I will pass on your message to others I love.

    Doreen
    Believe in a Ray of Hope

  3. Maria,
    Thank you so much for taking what I sent you and making sure that many others see it too. It is so important for women to realize that the right to vote did not come easily. It should never be taken for granted. But along with the right, comes the responsibility to learn what the candidates stand for, who is behind them and, as much as possible, how they will govern. Will it be productive, collaborative and with the best interests of the country as their goal, or will it be obstructionist and motivated by their desire to “defeat” the other party.
    Politics and governance should not be waged like a war!
    And I hate to have to say it, but remember when you vote today that there are many running for office nationwide this year who want to take away some of women’s hard-earned rights.
    Peace and Love,
    Jan

  4. Thanks for this post, Maria. I know these stories, and have never missed an election–not even once–since I turned 18. Both of my grandmothers were small children during the women’s suffrage movement. They remembered, and learned the significance from their own mothers, and made sure we learned it too. It is an important lesson for all, and none of us should take the right to vote casually.

    Voting is not a chore, or a burden; it is a right that many fought and died for, it is the foundation of this country (and it takes all of an hour at most, including travel time). As one of my friends recently posted, “VOTE. Our freedom is not FREE.” This applies to all of us, men, women, black, white, etc. Remember too, there was no black vote until 1964. That was less than 50 years ago. You’re right about the noise and people tuning out. But it’s time to tune back in, exercise our own power, and do our part to make the United States the amazing country it can and deserves to be.

  5. Please let me know when your book comes out!


Leave a Reply

Categories

