Posted by: ButterflyMoms | December 3, 2010

STOP, DROP and NAP!!!


Dearest ButterflyMoms,

I don’t know where you are reading this but I’m writing today from my kitchen with my three daughters 2, 4 and 6 who are acting like they ingested all of their Halloween candy in just the last hour! They are screaming, drawing, running, giggling, screeching and whining all around me. (SERENITY NOW! SERENITY NOW!!!) 😉

As mothers, we are oftentimes told by the “experts” the series of steps we need to have the perfect, socially acceptable, life, but they oftentimes don’t add to that equation, the fact that mothers/parents must do it with a backdrop depth of distraction that can drive a person to ____________ (fill in the blank) (Sometimes I fantasize about how even going on the reality show “Survivor” with all its drama, plotting, starvation, wet/cold conditions, etc., would be like a  vacation, compared to how challenging it can be to deal with all the levels we go through as parents.) Being only responsible for myself for six weeks????? SIGN ME UP JEFF!

I’ve done it again! DAMN IT! It snuck up on me! It’s right in the middle of the holiday season and I’ve already forgotten to take care of myself. For me it’s mostly lack of sleep. It is my “gateway” catalyst for me going down that dark, dark road of silent and dutiful martyrdom. I feel like if I put my head down this very second, I would start drooling and snoring instantly. No doubt about it.

We are talking about deep exhaustion. It sneaks up on you, a lost hour of sleep here watching a football game that went too long, or a movie that grabbed you just 10 minutes BEFORE your bedtime. It’s the countless times you got woken up to wipe a nose or a butt in the middle of the night. It’s the getting up early to prepare for a presentation before everyone else is up. It’s all these “little” episodes of lack of sleep that over time transport you to the Land of Ickies. Ahhh, the Land of Ickies, a very non-magical place where everything has a lower annoyance threshold, where you tend to eat more and mindlessly, where you are attracted more to TV/computers and less to books. It is a land where your dreams slip further and further away from reach. It is not a happy place. Being here for long periods of times erodes your connection to your soul. We have all seen moms who have been here too long…sometimes I see glimpses of her in the mirror. It is an epidemic that is so wide-spread that it has even started seeping into society’s fabric as the “new normal”.

Want to GET YOUR HAPPY BACK?  Ah, well then, it’s off to the Land of Love for you! What happens there? Well, that is where you love what you do, where you use your feelings and intuition guides you, where you attract the abundance of money and love effortlessly, where you find your life’s purpose. You have no need to judge yourself of others there and you see much more of the beauty that is always all around you. – To attain the golden ticket back to the Land of Love all you need to do is STOP, DROP and NAP! PLEASE try this at home!

If you need a prescription for it I will certainly write you one! Just let me know! 😉 Feel free to write one for yourself and a friend today. Imagine what the world would look like with all us napping! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, activating my nap as soon as I file this blog! Won’t you join me?

Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

PS  PS I’m sooooo thrilled that my dream of writing a book is finally come true!!! Entrepreneurial Moms Extraordinaire is the amazing wisdom of 21 entrepreneurial moms who are passing on their knowledge to those who don’t have time for beating around the bush! We all need to make money NOW and live our lives well NOW. This book will definitely help in a very profound way! It’s coming out at the end of January. It will be $25 but if you pre-order it now you get it for only $19.99. Of course I will autograph it for you too! 🙂 Send me an email at maria@butterflymoms.com and I will send you the order form. YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!!

 

Responses

  1. Thank you for your nice message. I will comment as soon as possible.
    In love Hilde

  2. Napping. Ahhhhh…. that sounds good. Thanks for helping me to dream 🙂

  3. Great advise. We do need to care for ourselves before we can care for others well. Xxxxxxooooo

  4. My Recipe: Small escapes – staying tips from the beautiful butterfly Mommihood
    • Ten ways not to go crazy

    I know as a creative mother of two sweet girls from 9 to 11 years are moments – or even entire days – it may feel overwhelmed: not even a sticky hand holding under the tap! Not even a dirty pants wash! Not again play “Hoppe Hoppe cavalier”! On such days I would like probably a single ticket in the far distance (without leaving an address, of course). I see it realistically, I’m probably just burned out.
    I need a break and time for yourself …

    Ten creative ways not to go crazy
    I asked myself: What do I do for me? How do stressed mothers relax and gather strength again?

    **The ten most common answers I have summarized.

    These small escapes are childless people would probably not before particularly luxurious. However, little free time is a precious commodity for the mothers and even a little pampering break helps to master the day better.

    ** So when I’m stressed the next time, I try the following:
    1) A warm bath always a romantic form
    A long bubble bath with candles, music and a good book – this is the favorite relaxation for me as a mother. This helps the warm water, the dim lighting and quiet music. For me, this is the right thing to get back to gather strength.

    “I tell my children:.., Mama needs some rest now, if what you need, then you turned to Grandma and Grandpa ‘ Then I close the bathroom door, looking for my favorite station on the radio and spoil me with my favorite – foam or oil bath I make sure that the water has a pleasantly warm temperature (sometimes I drink a cup of tea or a glass of wine) I grab me.. My favorite magazine or a novel, and then I let myself slip into the water. “:

    2) My body pamper
    Treat my body: try a massage with my meditation, relaxation Completely restructured to achieve, then a facial scrub or a new hairstyle. The advantages are obvious: I will not look after it better and feel better – I can also enjoy along the way, that I will spoil and someone takes care of me.
    I recommend about once a month for a massage. “There is not just luxurious – it feels good, helps me relax and head back to get free I’d go crazy without the time-out.”

    3) One time for your partner
    Recommendation: Remember that time with your partner – and without the children – actually helps the children. Because you maintain your relationship as a couple and as parents. ”

    4) A conversation with my friends
    I eat dinner with friends or I go out with friends! I experience a disruption of everyday life, gains a new perspective and collect wonderful experiences. And also I talk with the adults.

    5) Healthy creative wellness program
    A walk in the fresh air, a bike ride through the countryside, jogging on the beach – these are a few suggestions for a healthy wellness program. I examine my favorite activity of my art to escape from everyday life and come to other thoughts.

    6) I sleep well!
    I use sleep off the chance or I lie down in the afternoon! Every little bit of extra sleep is like a magical wonderland. I mean, to fuel power napping. Of course daily meditation before sleep is zuschlafen best way to carry.
    7) Maintain My flora and
    Gardening does not just plant good, but me. The fresh air, the physical work and the rewarding result – a flower garden! – Are a good balance. I gain the feeling of achievement, while the rest of life out of mountains of dirty laundry and dishes seem to exist.

    8) My precious time alone
    Sports, nature and love for animals are also part of my preferences. … The very fact that I am all for me, probably helps me to new resistance and inward strength.
    My other interests are in the artistic and cultural area, I can pursue them with passion and they give me much joy. In my free time I with my own art. As a sculptor I make sculptures, why do I need a lot of personal freedom.
    9) My world of words
    with a good art book or a magazine to be alone, for a mother is a true masterpiece. I take the time if it just goes. I will find that books offer a unique little world in which I can escape me …

    10) seen in the stone itself
    Personality in a scenario we can, for example, four of our current healing stones for the four levels – get to know and learn how we can follow and support these stones in our current process, and – mind, body, soul and mind.

    I hope my recipe is fun to other mothers give an idea.
    In love Hilde

  5. In need of ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ’s.
    Thanks for the reminder.
    Sweet dreams Ria!

  6. What a nice answer from you Ria: ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    I must say with joy! Allso my recipe did not have fun. My time and effort were very high. I can only write what I have myself seen and felt. My advice is for me to be in order for other mothers a little support. Thank you very much for everything. Until next time. I am happy…@@@


Leave a Reply

Categories

