Posted by: ButterflyMoms | July 1, 2011

I USED TO WHEN I WAS A KID…


Dearest Beautiful ButterflyMoms,

Here are this week’s important ButterflyMoms updates…

*The rumors are true, last week’s ButterflyMoms was indeed banned from Facebook for a few hours. Boy, who knew spirituality and personal growth could be so “racey”! (growl) 😉

*Soooooooooo awesome! We just had our fifth ButterflyMoms Workshop and this one was a very deep one for shifting heavy blocks in people’s lives. We’re meeting again next Thursday, July 7th, 8pm at 783 Washington St, Holliston. Plenty of FREE parking in back. Only $25 at the door (still let me know you’re coming so we have enough chairs and materials) or just $20 if you drop off a check or pay through Paypal… http://bit.ly/mS7c70 . 🙂 (We will miss you Ms Gaynor…have a wonderful vacation!!!)

*My computer and website issues are still a work in progress. Please keep sharing the site to friends. I apologize for the hiccups.

*No new books sold for MOM ENTREPRENEUR EXTRAORDINAIRE this week.

Now onto the ButterflyMoms blog…

I LOVE THE movie “Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium” with Natalie Portman, Jason Batemen and Dustin Hoffman. Have you seen it? It looks like it would be a KIDS movie so many people might have not really SEEN it even if they saw it, if you know what I mean. Many times in life we PRE-JUDGE a situation (or person) and then don’t see if for what it (he/she) comes to teach us. “Ahhh, that’s a kids’ movie, that’s not for me…”

There is a scene that sticks in my mind like a used piece of gum on a sidewalk  on a hot Atlanta summer’s day, Jason Batemen’s character  (HENRY) is an accountant who is working feverishly in Dustin Hoffman’s glass office to get the mountains of papers in financial order. A kind young boy (ERIC) who is a store regular (played by Zach Mills) knocks on the glass window and starts a conversation with writing notes to each other and showing them across the window. “Do you play checkers?” asks Eric. “Henry responds with, “I USED TO WHEN I WAS A KID.” “Want to play?” asks little Eric hopefully. The accountant responds by writing on his own piece of paper, “Can’t I’m working.” The child then asks, “Can you play when you stop working? and the accountant responds, “I NEVER stop working.” The boy draws a little sad face with the word… “oh” and walks away with his head and shoulders down. The accountant is sad for a moment, then takes a deep breath looks down and zones out again into his LAND OF SHOULD (in this case, I should go back to work).

It was SUCH a powerful scene for me because it is the struggle I go through in my own life. My little kid wants to go play but the “RESPONSIBLE” (ADULT) part of me wants me to, well, “be responsible”. I find that adding someone else’s children to the mix helps me bring out more of my kid-side. When I add my own children I sometimes tend to default to BEING RESPONSIBLE. Don’t know why, just observing at this point. This scene happens all over the world again and again in the lives of human beings. It is the struggle to stay in the delicate balance of happiness. I  only use the word “delicate” because there are soooo many forces in the mix that seem to PUSH/PULL/SHOVE/NUDGE us into being PROPERLY RESPONSIBLE that we oftentimes forget what it is like to PLAY.

WARNING: YOU ARE ENTERING THE FUN ZONE!! 😉

So in the THEME of increasing more PLAY in our lives I’m doing a fun “contest” as it were. ButterflyMoms is giving away a DVD of the movie, Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium! YAY!

Simply post this week’s ButterflyMoms blog on Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn….etc. Let us know by leaving a comment below of where you have posted it. For EACH place you post it your name will go into a hat (much like the one cute Eric wore in the movie 😉 ).  Next Thursday night, July 7th, at the ButterflyMoms workshop, I will pick a winner in front of everyone from all the names of those who left a comment on the ButterflyMoms blog with where they posted it. You don’t have to be present to win. If you live far away I will ship it to you, free. If you live close I will bring it to you myself. 🙂 How’s that for FREE fun?

Finally, for those who are visual here’s the actual scene from the movie…YAY! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kTGlcsLTAiY

ENJOY your week! Your assignment is to add lots and lots of PLAY time!  Start now… Good luck with the first ever FUN BUTTERFLYMOMS CONTEST! WHEW WHO!

Great big hugs,

Maariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

The following is a list of places where ButterflyMoms live who bought our wonderful book MOM ENTREPRENEUR EXTRAORDINAIRE…

UNITED STATES

California

Anaheim 1

Fullerton 1

Sacramento 1

San Bruno 1

Connecticut

Greenwich 1

Yalesville 1

Florida

Fort Lauderdale 1

Kentucky

Louisville 1

Maryland

Chestertown 1

Massachusetts

Ashland 2

Bolton 1

Holliston 12

Hudson 4

Medway 3

North Easton 1

Sherborn 1

South Grafton 1

Watertown 1

Worcester 3

Missouri

Lee’s Summit 1

New York

Scarsdale 1

Stony Brook 1

Ohio

Dublin 1

Rhode Island

Newport 1

Vermont

Waitsville (Mad River Valley) 2

AUSTRIA

Wien, Austria 2

IRELAND

Dublin, Ireland 1

ITALY

Rome, Italy 3

JAPAN

Tokyo  1

PORTUGAL

Santa Maria (Azores/Açores)  1

*To buy your copy Click here now…http://bit.ly/gRxe4U

 

 

*Mark your calendar to read ButterflyMoms EVERY Friday! 

       Share the ButterflyMoms blog with your beloved friends! Spread the love!  www.butterflymoms.com

 

Responses

  1. You’re right. Its a very challenging balance between work and being responsible and play time. It feels like once you become the responsible adult that you are no longer allowed play time. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. I have shared my excitement for your wise words as my status on FB. I feel good about passing it on today…. I will miss you all next week! FACETIME for sure 🙂 xxx

  3. Maria – such a great topic today especially as summer kicks off. As mom’s who work for ourselves, it is so easy to slip into that “working” mode 24/7 and forget to “play”. I have been taking focused time to let my little girl (inside of me) play every day! It is good for me, great for my own kids, and is a good example to others that life is so short and that it is mean to be enjoyed not endured! Shared the post – and LOVE the movie – I think it will be our Friday night movie night feature tonight! Mwaaaaahhh!

    • HEY BEAUTIFUL JOANNE!

      GUESS WHAT?! YOU ARE THE VERY FIRST WINNER OF THE BUTTERFLYMOMS CONTEST!!!! YOU WON THE DVD OF MR. MAGORIUM’s DREAM EMPORIUM!!! CONGRATULATIONS AND THANKS FOR BEING SUCH AN AWESOME BUTTERFLYMOM!!!! :)!

      Great Big Hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  4. I posted to FB. Yes, this topic sounds very familiar. I’m constantly saying “yes, but let me just….first” or “we’ll see”. Just play dammit!

  5. My “almost” 3 year old already rolls her eyes when she hears me (often) say “soon” or “later” when she asks to do something fun. She’s already learned that it most often means “not happening ever” … Thanks for your blog and helping me be more aware … This afternoon fun is at the top of the list!

  6. i am posting your link to my facebook account…(so please enter me in your contest!) 😀

  7. I posted it on a friends FB page. I had just told her about this yesterday because I thought she would like it! Loved that movie!! Even now with my daughter being 21, we just had this conversation about me being to busy to spend some quality time with her! 😦 You are right! Need to make time to have fun!! Thanks for the reminder!!

  8. good food for your soul!! Posted on my FB, love you, Vicki

  9. 1.My dearest Maria, I love you about everything, my true and reliable heart and soul jumps out of time now, how much love and affection HIFs ready to come from you.
    If you see that I need help. When you help me by you all with me just doing. You send me on Thursday just one link that I click and I can equally participate, without a long look around, on your many websites.
    Now begins the fifth ButterflyMoms energy workshop and it is wonderful how my heart rejoices, when you take part in the right place. I’m not playing games and it is not my type. I am too inept to play because my inner being, always a loving, rather, is loyal and dependable.
    ** I’ve now seen all your pages and I find this site. But the energy should be the right workshop. But only see and read these current issues.

    Lisa Kubik – Blog Thursday 30 June 2011, 21:00:02
    1.http: / / http://www.lisakubik.com/3/feed
    2nd http://www.lisakubik.com/3/post/2011/06/prophetic-peace.html # comments

    I simply love all things that are simple, because I have my children with very high employment. Everything is easier and happier if you were with me in real life. So that we can make our life full of love and daily life. Everything depends only on you.
    I take a lot of time for you because I love you and always will be with you.
    2. I do not know what our relationship with this film has to do the Butterfly MOMS blog. I’ve seen the film only briefly and I read some articles.
    Wait ((My memories would. This fantasy film, suitable for the Christmas season takes this likeable family comedy big and small in a magical toy shop world in which many surprises. Mr. loads Wonder Emporium not only to dream, but also stimulates the mind. It is hoped that the story has a happy ending. This Molly had achieved by the help of a good friend and jump over their own borders, but more than they ever expected.))
    Allso again, I have no intention to go with you into a world of children’s film. It’s also never my world. I am a clean, reputable, reliable and very sensible, thinking person, and I always important to speak with my favorite person all of a harmonious manner.
    3. It’s really interesting that everything I do for you, you show me only a loving satisfaction. I try my inner movements of my thoughts for you transmit over.
    PS: As for example. I always open this door and you enter the room of the Holy chamber of my heart. Feel the loving vibration that fills the entire room here. I see myself calm and take your true energy, perhaps you will find beloved thoughts or other things that come from my heart. Open my heart for the love, joy and happiness that permeates the room.
    It is very generously of yourself and you’re so much effort, you will draw the winner in our ButterflyMoms workshop on Thursday.
    I need not be present to win. It’s just another way to feed my soul! How interesting. You make my life very easy. We just make nice energy workshop and you can send me the correct link so I can take part equally. I can give my comment below, and we are all happy and satisfied.
    Thank you so in love, thanks for everything you do for me every day.
    3. It’s really interesting that everything I do for you, you show me only a loving satisfaction. I try my inner movements of my thoughts for you transmit over.
    PS: As for example. I always open this door and you enter the room of the Holy chamber of my heart. Feel the loving vibration that fills the entire room here. I see myself calm and take your true energy, perhaps you will find beloved thoughts or other things that come from my heart. Open my heart for the love, joy and happiness that permeates the room.
    It is very generously of yourself and you’re so much effort, you will draw the winner in our ButterflyMoms workshop on Thursday.
    I need not be present to win. It’s just another way to feed my soul! How interesting. You make my life very easy. We just make nice energy workshop and you can send me the correct link so I can take part equally. I can indulge my love of my heart full comment below, and we are all happy and satisfied for all moments we spend together.

    I embrace. Thank you so in love with all my heart thanks for everything you do for me every day. 🙂

    • Hello Beautiful Hilde, as for right now we have no links to send you because you have to be present to participate in the workshop we have on Thursday. If you would like to do a private session on Skype I could do that with you to see how it would be. A private session for just you is $95 USD. Let me know if that works for you.

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  10. Maria, I LOVE to play and dance in the rain!! Obviously, NOT if it’s an electrical storm, but a nice warm Summer day/evening ~ YES!!
    I posted your blog on Fb and Metro-West!

  11. I am sharing this wonderful message on FB, here in Miami! Thank you Maria!

  12. So true, Maria–the dishes can wait!!! We had so much fun at the playground today…the boys didn’t want to leave for anything!!!!! My 3-yr-old said, “Mommy, I want to stay here all night!” LOL. So awesome to experience them having a blast. Bonus I didn’t get stuck in the tube slide, LOL.

    I posted this in my Facebook status. Winning is cool, so feel free to draw my name out of that hat! 😉 I’ll share! Movie night @ my house…will throw in the popcorn…

    Keep writing good stuff, Maria!

  13. Great movie- great message-so glad you sat down and watched it- must have been a rare movie night- be sure to do it again! hugs to you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

