Posted by: ButterflyMoms | July 20, 2012

WHAT IS GOING ON WITH MARIAAAAAAA?


Dearest ButterflyMoms,

Especially if you live locally to where I live in beautiful Holliston, Massachusetts, you are probably wondering what the hell I’m going to write about today because there is soooooooooo much going on in my life. There usually is a lot but lately it’s been a lot even for me. My being diagnosed with Lyme disease, after being in severe pain for days felt like a driver of an 18-wheeler must feel when he has to make a very sudden stop.

The thing about Lyme disease is that it takes no prisoners. It is a disease that comes in many forms and symptoms. Some people have the rash, some don’t. Some test positive for it, some don’t. I was lucky enough to have it hit hard and ugly right from the beginning. Plus, there are many other similar diseases that get LUMPED into the LYME disease bandwagon because they don’t know how to best individually test for all of them. The hundreds of responses I got from people on my Facebook page not only gave me an ocean-load of good wishes and beautiful prayers, but also an incredible wealth of information about each person’s experience that helped me piece together my own Lyme disease puzzle. The goal for me with things like this is to figure out, “WHAT HAS THIS COME TO TEACH ME?” and “WHY IS THIS THE BEST THING THAT EVER HAPPENED TO ME?”

This bad boy is PAINFUL! I have never been in so much pain for such a long period of time. I lost 8lbs in less than a week (funny how running almost 20 miles/a week did made me lose almost nothing but I digress… Universe has a sense of humor that I sometimes don’t understand! 😉 ). I slept 15-20 hours a day. My muscles hurt so much that sometimes all I could do was cry. My eyes could not stand to be in sunlight. I could not stand ANY noise. My fever was so high I was hallucinating. I could not get warm. I had cold chills and just kept sweating and sweating and sweating.

In this journey I have found out some amazing things that have helped me remember life’s core laws…

ASKING. Asking for help is something I’m learning how to do better. It is actually starting to feel good because when you do it from a real place of need and/or appreciation it creates an opportunity for the other person to feel good about giving.

AWARENESS. Through this gift of being sick, a number of things have surfaced that I would not have known/noticed had I never gotten bit by that miniscule little tick with an attitude! Here are some of the things I raised my awareness on…

•    ANTIBIOTICS. We overuse them in our society (something I’ve suspect but did not have the medical training to know why). In certain circumstances like with Lyme disease you have to take them but make sure you also take probiotics because it makes a huge difference to your system. The antibiotics kill EVERY BACTERIA but you need healthy bacteria in your body. The probiotics helps store the healthy bacteria so your body is healthier. Special THANK YOU to Darlene Vittori and Michelle Cordani for their help here.

•    GOVERNMENT. I was not too happy to find from a friend in the military that Lyme disease was something the US military invented as part of military chemical warfare in Lyme, CT. They assume it was “accidently” released into the environment! ARGH! Not all awareness needs to make us happy. This news made me feel very angry because that is exactly what this bug felt like, an invader that was ripping pain throughout my body! For some strange reason it made me feel better knowing this and then letting it go.

The incredible healings of Marjorie Themeli really helped me get to a new level of feeling better. Here we are at our graduation.

•    ENERGETICALLY. When things enter our lives they all have a symbolic meaning so I looked up “Lyme disease” to see what it means … “invader, to be invaded, lack of boundaries with other and/or things.” Lots for self reflection here, eh? 😉

BODY FUEL. What I put into my mouth is very mindful HOWEVER I do eat things, lots of things that I put perceived tasted over nutritional value. This week I have not done that. Lyme disease is an inflammatory disease and eating processed foods and sugar makes your body have to work even harder to heal. Realizing this makes it easier to just eat the things that will help my beautiful body feel better! Special THANK YOU to Corinne Kelleher who was so wonderful about bringing me some goodies to eat and for my beautiful mãezinha (“mama” in Portuguese) Raquel who came over with a bunch of groceries and cooked me Portuguese Kale soup.

COMMUNITY. From my community both local and virtual, I was able to get sooooo much love, information and resources. It took the whole global village to help me heal and I am so very thankful for this amazing gift. FEELS GOOD!

ENERGY WORK. I got two amazing healings (in person) by Marjorie Themeli, one of the incredible healers from the energy school I went to. Those healings helped significantly shift a lot of the stuck energy that was in my lower chakras. I felt significantly better after each one. They were incredibly powerful. I also got a lot of long distance healing from many of my dear friends including Cathie Chouinard and Joy Dorsey. Plus, I’m about to take my REIKI MASTER TEACHER class and this was a great self-practice because I once I chose to stop taking pain medication and deal with the pain on my own, it forced me to use all the skills I have learned as a healer on myself so that I could hone them. It was not always easy but you can I say I was VERY FOCUSED! 😉

EXTREME SELF-CARE. Early on it was strongly communicated to me that if I did not fully rest it would come back in a harsher form or never go away…. VERY STRONG MOTIVATION FOR TAKING VERY GOOD CARE OF MYSELF. Sleep is something that in my everyday life I “play” with. It is the one thing I can PUSH and I do all the time. For these last two weeks my body DEMANDED SLEEP and I had no choice. I think it’s a very good reminder of how very important it is to CARVE out the time to actually sleep.

STRESS. It was Thursday at 4:00. Doug & I were coming home from a very long day of showing condos in Boston. It was to be an exciting night. Our friends from Italy were coming just for the night. I had ButterflyMoms but she was going to go with me so it was all good. I had started feeling bad but we had been in Manhattan the day before on The Kelly Show and I thought I was just tired. First we get a text from our clients who are only in town for two days that they want to go back out to do another tour the next day. No problem except that it takes 4-6 hours to book a tour and we have all these plans. Then at about 4:30pm we get a VERY UNEXPECTED call from DCF (Department of Children and Family) informing us that they are coming to take Beatriz the next morning at 9:30am! UH WHAT?! We had thought she was going to be with us until the end of the month so this was a surprise. They just decided they were going to move her to a group home before she went to her permanent home. We asked why… no good answer was given. We tried to explain that we would not have time to say our proper good-byes to her. We tried to explain our circumstances of that evening’s events. We tried to explain that we could not possibly pack her up in such a short period of time… “Sorry, I’m just following what I was told,” was the response. After over an hour of calling and calling (they did this so close to 5 that most social workers had gone home). All of this extreme stress in such a short time, I believe activated the virus. I could not understand it at the time but I am thankful for getting such severe symptoms so quickly so that there is no way I could ignore it.  Gifts in Strange Places… find them in your own life!

As a sidenote: Bea did leave the next morning with just a few weeks worth of stuff. They have found a home for her that better fits her needs. She will do better in a home with no little kids. Some people say, “Sorry it did not work out,” but I believe that it did work out the way it “should”. I got a calling and answered it. It lasted as long as it needed to and we all got exactly what we all needed out of it. I love and miss our beautiful Bea. She is an amazing person who has helped me be a better person.

The Lyme disease is also something that, even though it was extremely challenging, and even painful, has helped me become a more aware, happier person.

Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

Take a moment and FEEL YOUR LIFE for a moment. Let the ICKIES fall away. Embrace the love. Forgive yourself for not living the perfect life your mind has tricked you into thinking you should be living.  Just be. That is all that is needed for happiness.
WHAT IS BUTTERFLYMOMS?
ButterflyMoms is a community of people who realize they are souls first and human being second. They want to explore more about themselves, to find out what makes them happy and how they can lead a life of purpose. It is simply about FEEDING YOUR SOUL. Although it has the name “MOMS” in the title it is more about being nurturing to your own transformation, as the butterfly is to its own metamorphosis. This community is led by Maria Salomão-Schmidt whose transformation was ignited by the birth and death of her BELOVED thirteen month old daughter Sophia (Sophalicious), the original butterfly.
*Every Thursday Night we have a BUTTERFLYMOMS SOUL SUPPORT GROUP at 783 Washington Street in Holliston, MA at 8pm that feeds your soul. They started after Maria manifested her dream…with the help of Sophia…to be a guest on THE OPRAH WINFREY SHOW and every week since she had done the SOUL SUPPORT GROUP on Thursday nights. There was only supposed to be one workshop but people kept asking to be able to come the next week and the next week and the next week until a whole year has gone by!!!!Any questions call my cell at 617.877.3616.
*Every Friday Morning, as a way of honoring her daughter Sophia’s soul, Maria gets up at 4:30-5:00am to write the weekly BUTTERFLYMOMS BLOG. Hundreds of people read it every week to feed their souls. Maria started writing the blog in May 2009 and has written EVERY Friday since. Tell your friends… https://butterflymoms.wordpress.com
WHAT ELSE IS GOING ON? MORE WAYS TO FEED YOUR SOUL…
√  Next BUTTERFLYMOMS SOUL SUPPORT GROUP is Thursday, July 26th at 8pm. We’ve had to cancel the last two because of illness but this next one is on for sure!!!!! (knock on wood 😉 ). Only three groups left! It is a wonderful way to come learn to feed your magnificent soul!… The ButterflyMoms Soul Support Group grew out of the amazing experience had of being on of THE OPRAH SHOW’s very last guests. Now it’s your turn to come to this safe place where you can work out your blocks and talk about your dreams!!! Held at the offices of Brick House Realty (783 Washington S, Holliston, MA). Plenty of FREE & EASY PARKING in the back lot… and come right in the back entrance. Only $25, or just $20 if pay through Paypal http://bit.ly/mS7c70! Bring your friends!!! PLEASE RSVP to maria at butterflymoms dot com.
√  I have space for one more coaching/healing clients. If you are interested send me an email maria at butterflymoms dot com.
√  Here is the magnificent ButteflyMoms interview on Nancy L. Cantor‘s Dream Factory Television Show… I hope you watch it and that it feeds your soul! ! http://vimeo.com/30095902
√  No ENTREPRENEUR MOM EXTRAORDINAIRE books sold this week. If you have been thinking about starting a business or want to take your business to the next level this is a wonderful way to start. WAY cheaper than going back to school…and very helpful! To feed the soul of a friend buy them a copy by CLICKING HERE NOW… http://bit.ly/gRxe4U.  PLUS each book is personally (and lovingly) autographed.
THE BOOK… “Mom Entrepreneur Extraordinaire”
The following is a list of places where ButterflyMoms live who bought our wonderful book, MOM ENTREPRENEUR EXTRAORDINAIRE… Buy one so you can put your part of the world on the list, like so many other beautiful ButterflyMoms have!
“Mom Entrepreneur Extraordinaire” BOOKS SOLD INSIDE THE UNITED STATES
CALIFORNIA
Anaheim 1
Fullerton 1
Sacramento 1
San Bruno 1
CONNECTICUT
Cromwell 1
Greenwich 1
Yalesville 1
FLORIDA
Fort Lauderdale 1
GEORGIA
Roswell 1
KENTUCKY
Louisville 1
MAINE
Biddeford 1
MARYLAND
Chestertown 1
MASSACHUSETTS
Ashland 3
Blackstone 2
Bolton 1
Canton 1
Framingham 1
Holliston 17
Hudson 4
Medway 5
Millis 1
Millbury 4
New Bedford 1
North Easton 1
Rutland 1
Sherborn 1
South Grafton 1
Watertown 1
Westborough 1
Wrentham 1
Worcester 3
Wrentham 1
MISSOURI
Lee’s Summit 1
NEW HAMPSHIRE
Laconia 1
NEW YORK
Scarsdale 1
Stony Brook 1
OHIO
Dublin 1
RHODE ISLAND
Newport 1
VERMONT
Waitsville (Mad River Valley) 2
“Mom Entrepreneur Extraordinaire” BOOKS SOLD OUTSIDE UNITED STATES
AUSTRIA
Wien 2
IRELAND
Dublin, Ireland 1
ITALY
Rome, Italy 3
JAPAN
Tokyo  1
PORTUGAL
Santa Maria (Azores/Açores)  1
SCOTLAND
Greenock 1
SPAIN
Madrid 1
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
*To buy your copy Click now… http://bit.ly/gRxe4U
REMEMBER…
*Mark your calendar to read ButterflyMoms EVERY Friday!
*Share the ButterflyMoms blog with your beloved friends! Spread the love… https://butterflymoms.wordpress.com/

Responses

  1. So glad you are on the mend! And so good you have had all that help too!
    Linda XOX

    P.S. Will call you on Sunday.

  2. Great blog this week, feel better xx

  3. Thank you Maria for sharing your journey with us. I am so glad you are at peace and on the road to recovery. Love YOU Lots!

  4. So Happy to hear your getting better Maria !! Sometimes the most painful things make us so much stronger !! Thanks for always reminding all of us how important life is !


Leave a Reply

Categories

