Posted by: ButterflyMoms | November 23, 2012

YOU CAN ONLY FAKE IT SO LONG…


Dearest ButterflyMoms,

THANKSGIVING is one of my VERY FAVORITE HOLIDAYS!!!! This Thanksgiving was a little challenging for me because I’m not in America. Portugal does not celebrate Thanksgiving in any way so, here, it’s just another regular day of school. I had all these cool ideas of what to do with the girls and then I got a head cold that has rocked my world in a major way, thus putting a kibosh on all my plans. I started thinking about not seeing my son’s last football game, not doing all the rituals Doug and I do together, not having Thanksgiving with our family, not seeing our kids participating in the endearing New England events that we’ve done every year since they were born. I oftentimes feel alone because I am the cook, house cleaner, coordinating kids activities, food shopper, dish washer, driver, planner, dog walker, car maintainer, bill payer, clothes washer, etc. for my girls plus doing my work for with Brick House Realty, my clients and writing my book. The cold, which I suspect came on from lack of sleep, is my not-so-gentle reminder that there are severe consequences for not taking care of myself. AHHHHHHHHH! I teach this! I “should” know this lesson by now BUT it is a lesson that I have not yet managed to truly grasp. As a mother, I think I stay up late because it is the time when I get true ME time. Time to have quiet, sometimes it’s time to do the dishes or laundry so that we live in a semi-clean house. I am 45 now and cutting my sleep is not a wise solution any more. It sets up my next day for failure.

The beautiful Graça and her beautiful Scottish husband Norman! Amazing people!

A dear friend of mine Graça Palmer sent me this Neale Donald Walsch quote today that I’d love to share with you… “Challenges are what you came for. And you are never, ever, given a challenge you cannot overcome. The purpose of life is to give you a chance to be the grandest version of the greatest vision ever you held about Who You Are. When challenges arrive, then, move straight to clarity: This is what you came for. Now rise to this occasion, and know that you have every resource with which to create the right and perfect outcome.”

Above I wrote about some of my challenges, everyone has them. We are here to create exactly what Neale shared… TO BE THE GRANDEST VERSION OF THE GREATEST VISION EVER YOU HELD ABOUT WHO YOU ARE.” So whatever you are going through RIGHT NOW. EMBRACE IT! Let go of what is not working. Remember to practice extreme self-care. You know the basics… water, sleep, veggies, kindness, release, ground, protect, gratitude, movement, service… Check into these areas of your life. Make sure you are taking good care of you. Winter is the time for us to slow down and nurture… And don’t just nod, like you are right now, saying in your head, “Yes, I need to do that.”  Actually grab your calendar and PEN and write in five times this next week when you will do something to take care of yourself. Could be anything like take 20 minutes to read a book or do some crocheting or take a long bath. It does not have to be expensive, you just need to CARVE out the time and really be in the moment while you are doing it!

I realized that why I LOVE THANKSGIVING is because we get to share what we are thankful for! With this in mind I decided to celebrate this Thanksgiving by working on my gratitude. Back in August when I had our last ButterflyMoms’ meeting I was given about 18 magical cards and notes from the people whose lives I had touched, I got the intuitive hit that this was finally the time to open and read them. I did it while the kids were at school and to further take care of myself and savor the moment I also sipped on hot herbal tea for my throat. It gave me such inspiration! Thank you to everyone who wrote… or sang me their message! May the love you sent out be reverberated back to you ten-fold!  It was something that fueled my heart and it was THE absolutely perfect way for me to spend my Thanksgiving this year! 🙂

Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

WHAT ELSE IS GOING ON? MORE WAYS TO FEED YOUR SOUL…

√  For those who want a coach with a lot of heart, I’m here to help you get rid of your blocks and go towards your goals. I’m living what I have been teaching clients for nearly two decades. Whether you are curious or serious send me an email to maria@butterflymoms.com to set up a time to get you to your first step. For those who want something to shift in their lives this is a great time!!!

√  Here is the magnificent ButteflyMoms interview on Nancy L. Cantor‘s Dream Factory Television Show… I hope you watch it and that it feeds your soul!! http://vimeo.com/30095902

√  Last year I co-authored the book ENTREPRENEUR MOM EXTRAORDINAIRE. If you have been thinking about starting a business or want to take your business to the next level this is a wonderful way to start. WAY cheaper than going back to school…and very helpful! To feed the soul of a friend, buy them a copy by CLICKING HERE NOW… http://bit.ly/gRxe4U.  Feel part of the magic below and see where in the world people have bought this book…

REMEMBER TO…
*Mark your calendar to read ButterflyMoms EVERY Friday!
*Share ButterflyMoms blog with beloved friends! Spread the love… https://butterflymoms.wordpress.com/

*Buy your copy of the book now at http://bit.ly/gRxe4U

Some of the very incredible ButterflyMoms who were there on the last day… 😉

WHAT IS BUTTERFLYMOMS?
ButterflyMoms is a community of people who realize they are souls first and human being second. They want to explore more about themselves, to find out what makes them happy and how they can lead a life of purpose. It is simply about FEEDING YOUR SOUL. Although it has the name “MOMS” in the title it is more about being nurturing to your own transformation, as the butterfly is to its own metamorphosis. This community is led by Maria Salomão-Schmidt whose transformation was ignited by the birth and death of her BELOVED thirteen month old daughter Sophia (Sophalicious), the original butterfly.

*Every Friday Morning, as a way of honoring her daughter Sophia’s soul, Maria writes the weekly BUTTERFLYMOMS BLOG. Hundreds of people read it every week to feed their souls. Maria started writing the blog in May 2009 and has written EVERY Friday since. Maria was one of THE OPRAH SHOW’s last guests.

Tell your friends… https://butterflymoms.wordpress.com and spread the love!!! FEED YOUR SOUL!!!!!

Responses

  1. The message in your writing is so important. The more important part is to pay attention to it and to live it fully and to be grateful for all that we do have.

    • You are a GREAT reminder for me! Thanks “pinky”! 😉

    • Every time you leave a comment it’s like you give my heart flowers! 🙂 DANKE!

  2. We dont celebrate Thansgiving here in Ireland, more’s the pity. Sounds like you made the most of it even though it was very different for you this year. Hope you are feeling even better now as I write this.

    • It is sooo fun! I think it should be an international holiday… not the turkey (because I don’t even eat meat) but the being THANKFUL part. 🙂 Love to you beautiful Claire! 🙂

  3. We missed u and the girls this year. But I’m very happy, that in short time, we can have our THANKSGIVING together.
    Peace & Love – Paz & Amor

    Mae

  4. Your so right Maria !! We all Sometimes forget what we should be thankful for ! Thanks for reminding all of us and please keep posting the pictures of your experiences !! It’s like we are right there with you !! Love you my friend !!

    • Hey Beautiful Rei Alberto!
      Do you know that you are the one of the very top top commenters here on the ButterflyMoms blog?! I think you are #2! Thank you for the support and thank you for being you!

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  5. I lived in Britain for eleven years, so I know that feeling of where is Thanksgiving??? Hope you are feeling better!

    • Thanks beautiful Anna for reaching out. I am feeling much better. This year has been like a series of waves but mostly waves that are in alignment than those resonating in discord. 🙂

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  6. Maria,

    I just wanted to leave a quick note. You and your girls are on the best life changing trip ever! Sometimes I get so busy and so stressed out over silly little things, whether its money, work, friends, or all them combined. I can start to feel my self getting my emotions bundled up inside and I feel like I’m ready to burst. I can feel it brewing and have taught myself to stop, inhale and exhale deeply and think about all the good things in my life. My daughter and my hounds. Reading your weekly Butterfly Moms over the last few months, has helped me in so many ways. I find myself regrouping and breathing deeply and taking a step back before I get all stressed out. Your life experiences that you share with all of us has helped me so much and I am so grateful that we “shattered the word strangers”! Thank you for everything you do. Give the girls a hug from Morgan and I, and your amazing pooch a big wet kiss !!!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

