Posted by: ButterflyMoms | March 15, 2013

Life Sucks and Then You Die… NOT!


!!! LIVE BY THIS

My mom and I on my 1st birthday in Portugal.

My mom and I on my 1st birthday in Portugal.

Dearest ButterflyMoms,

Something has happened, a deep shift. It feels immense and small at the same time. It’s been happening for a while but its’ really “cresting” now. You will start seeing it as it unfolds here through the ButterflyMoms blog and with what is coming up! In the meantime there is something that is important for you to know…

IMG_5094The real truth is that for most of my life I’ve felt “out-of-synch” with life. I never felt the age I was. Kids made fun of me because I was an “immigrant” but when I visited Portugal I was the “American” kid. I didn’t “fit” anywhere. Growing up I could not understand why my dad was so angry and violent. Life was oftentimes sad, horrifying, confusing and tense. My father was not only violent with the kids. He oftentimes threatened to hurt my mother too. Things got so bad that one day when I was about 8, I was so petrified of a world without her that I offered God a trade. My life for hers. I literally wrote out my will (giving all my toys to my mother’s classroom kids and one special little toy for each of my brother’s) and then I turned off the lights and sat behind the armchair in the livingroom waiting for God to take my life… I sat there terrified for hours. My heart weeps for that beautiful, sweet, little girl with the big broken heart.

DSCN4114It was during that time that I started hearing a voice that told me that I was indeed special. It told me that what I was going through was temporary and necessary. It could not be explained. I would be ok. Just hold on, it told me again and again. I believed the voice and began to look at life like I was a bird in a gilded cage, knowing full well that one day I would be set free. My life’s purpose as a kid became to protect my brothers/mother and study for life on the “outside”. I wanted to know as much about living as I could. I read voraciously. Besides the valuable knowledge I gained from that time in my life, I was also given the gift of developing my creativity. All of these skills help me even now as I do my life’s work.

After childhood my life still felt “out-of-synch”, like I was doing all the right things but not really feeling like I was living life from the inside out. College (both graduate and undergrad felt like I was paying them a lot of money to make me jump over hops, not for the love of the information or learning.) Jobs I got were mostly about “paying my dues” until some magical time when I had made it to some unknown level. Boyfriends were people for whom I would morph to become what they needed over what I did.

Image of Sophia and MamaMy major life shift started in my late 30’s when I had a baby with Downs and has been growing ever since. All my children are gifts but Sophia has been a life lesson. Her birth, and ultimately her unexpected death, put the whole rest of my life into perspective. Another way to say it is that, it put my past in the past, and gave me back my present. Her death has allowed me to break away from all the societal, cultural and familial SHOULDs. It’s given me the space for that amazing voice, that guided me when I was young, to grow in strength. That voice leads me to my life’s purpose. I would not be the same person had I not gone through the fires of hell but I don’t need to live there either! I choose to live in the “now”.  I would never have known that my life’s purpose is THE FIRE THAT IGNITES PEOPLE’s SOUL had I not experienced what I did. It was the path to my GIFT. It is from that voice that I hear my heart’s calling. It is from that voice in the now that I am such a powerful coach to my clients. It is from that voice that I write this blog. It’s from that voice that I am writing my next book.

Whatever YOU have gone through… May this serve as a wonderful reminder to LIVE YOUR LIFE OUT LOUD!!!!!! We all go through our own “hell” here on earth. Remember to FIND THE GIFTS in the experience for they are the golden ticket to your life’s FREEDOM and JOY!

Great big hugs,

Mariaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

WHAT ELSE IS GOING ON? MORE WAYS TO FEED YOUR SOUL TO START 2013 OFF ON THE RIGHT FOOT!… 

√  COACHING: For those who want a coach with a lot of heart, I’m here to help you get rid of your blocks and go towards your goal. I’m living what I have been teaching clients for nearly two decades. Whether you are curious or serious send me an email to maria@butterflymoms.com to set up a time to get you to your first step. For those who want something to shift in their lives this is a great time!!!

√  INTERVIEW: Here is the magnificent ButteflyMoms interview on Nancy L. Cantor‘s Dream Factory Television Show… I hope you watch it and that it feeds your soul! ! http://vimeo.com/30095902

Buy the book and support two people's dreams! :)

Buy the book and support two people’s dreams! 🙂

√ BOOKS FOR SALE: “Mom Entrepreneur Extraordinaire” See list below for all the places in the world where this book has been sold! Last year I co-authored the book ENTREPRENEUR MOM EXTRAORDINAIRE. If you have been thinking about starting a business or want to take your business to the next level this is a wonderful way to start. WAY cheaper than going back to school…and very helpful! To feed the soul of a friend, buy them a copy by CLICKING HERE NOW… http://bit.ly/gRxe4U.  Feel part of the magic below and see where in the world people have bought this book…

BOOKS SOLD INSIDE THE UNITED STATES

CALIFORNIA
Anaheim 1
Fullerton 1
Sacramento 1
San Bruno 1

CONNECTICUT
Cromwell 1
Greenwich 1
Yalesville 1

FLORIDA
Fort Lauderdale 1

Seminole 1

GEORGIA
Roswell 1

ILLINOIS

Lake Forrest 1

KENTUCKY
Louisville 1

MAINE
Biddeford 1

MARYLAND
Chestertown 1

MASSACHUSETTS
Ashland 3
Blackstone 2
Bolton 1
Canton 1
Framingham 1
Holliston 17
Hudson 4
Medway 8
Millis 1
Millbury 4
New Bedford 1
North Easton 1
Rutland 1
Sherborn 1
South Grafton 1
Watertown 1
Westborough 1
Wrentham 1
Worcester 3

MISSOURI
Lee’s Summit 1

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Laconia 1

NEW YORK
Scarsdale 1
Stony Brook 1

OHIO
Dublin 1

RHODE ISLAND
Bristol 1

Newport 1

VERMONT
Waitsville (Mad River Valley) 2

 

BOOKS SOLD OUTSIDE UNITED STATES

AUSTRIA
Wien 2

IRELAND
Dublin, Ireland 1

ITALY
Rome, Italy 3

JAPAN
Tokyo  1

PORTUGAL 
Carcavelos 1

Lisboa 11

Ovar 1

Sintra 1

Santa Maria (Azores/Açores)  1

SCOTLAND
Greenock 1

SPAIN
Madrid 1
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * **To buy your copy Click now… http://bit.ly/gRxe4U

 

Isabella says, "Make sure you share my mom's ButterflyMoms blog with at least TWO friends today!" ;)

Isabella says, “Make sure you share my mom’s ButterflyMoms blog with at least TWO friends today!” 😉

WHAT IS BUTTERFLYMOMS?
ButterflyMoms is a community of people who realize they are souls first and human being second. They want to explore more about themselves, to find out what makes them happy and how they can lead a life of purpose. It is simply about FEEDING YOUR SOUL. Although it has the name “MOMS” in the title it is more about being nurturing to your own transformation, as the butterfly is to its own metamorphosis. This community is led by Maria Salomão-Schmidt whose transformation was ignited by the birth and death of her BELOVED thirteen month old daughter Sophia (Sophalicious), the original butterfly.

*Every Friday Morning, as a way of honoring her daughter Sophia’s soul, Maria writes the weekly BUTTERFLYMOMS BLOG. Hundreds of people read it every week to feed their souls. Maria started writing the blog in May 2009 and has written EVERY Friday since. Maria is a Reiki master and every time you read it you are showered with healing love.  Tell your friends… https://butterflymoms.wordpress.com and spread the love!!! FEED YOUR SOUL!!!!!

Responses

  1. It’s great that you continue to follow your dreams. Very well written. Thanks for opening up. Must be very challenging.

    • Beautiful Doug,

      As always you are there to be the first to comment and energetically set the tone for others to comment below! Thank you for being one of the key people who helped me move out of the swamp of despair and into the light of love! Life with you is glorious!

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

      • I admire your strength ,energy and devotion. I do understand all you are saying ! Thank God for what you became. “beautiful” inside and out. I loved the reading,, you have a God’s given gift, treasure it! May God bless you. Um beijao, Alda

  2. I just love you and are in awe. You were put in my row to help me learn and live my life.

    • I feel like I was misled by the advertising at the Wayne Dyer/Carolyn Myss event. I should have also let me know that I would be meeting and connecting with an amazing soul who goes by the name “Annie D’Esposito”! LOVE TO YOU ALL THE WAY TO CHICAGO!!!!

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  3. My inner scared little girl reaches out to hug yours right now. And my adult woman holds your hand, gives it a squeeze, and smiles at the paths we are both on; crazy, unexpected, sometimes scary, always inspiring, inevitably filled with gifts from the universe. I feel honored to be a witness to your unfolding journey and thank you for authenticity and grace. With love, light, and gratitude xoxo Helen

    • Beautiful Helen,

      You have “perfect” timing! I got your gift earlier this afternoon in the mail. I think it was the shot of love I needed to birth this magnificent flow of consciousness. I thank you for the constant love you are always sending me. I LOVE YOU!

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  4. You are so amazing, Maria. I’m sorry to hear about the fear you experiences as a child, even though I know you have long since transcended it. It’s funny how alike our awakening stories are, even though the details are different. I was approaching 30 when I lost my baby girl in-utero, it broke me completely and made me question everything I’d ever known. It also made me appreciate the importance of connection, in more ways that one lol! It’s so true what they say, when we can find the treasure in our greatest adversities, we really do set ourselves free. Much love and blessings from your Scottish sis, Rx

  5. Big hug right back at you- and know that your gifts shined in college.
    You made a difference on the Heights!

    • Thank you beautiful Kataleanie! You were one of THE best things about BC!!!!!

      Love you!
      Mariaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  6. Thank you Maria for sharing with us your pain!

    It sadness me to know that you went through so much as child! Not only at home but at school as well. No child should ever have to go through that! I can relate about school…..always the foreigner and when visiting Portugal always the American! It´s not easy and only someone who has felt the same discrimination can understand…. So yes, Beautiful Maria I do understand your pain! Lucky, I had a good family life to counterbalance the other!
    As I look at tearful face of your beautiful daughter, I pray that she does not have to deal with these issues at school; kids can be so cruel at times! It breaks my heart just to think of this possibility!

    All my LOVE to you beautiful Maria and to your beautiful Princess

    • Hello Beautiful Maria do Carmo,

      Everyone goes through something. It is how you handle it. I really feel that whatever you attract into your life is what you need to grow spiritually. It’s all a gift AND a curse. I choose to see it as a gift… most of the time. 😉 As for Isabella school is fine for her. The world is a different place, more global than when we were children.

      Great big hugs,
      Mariaaaaaaaaaaa
      🙂

  7. Noch weitere alte Erinnerungen an die Kindheit.. 😦 Ein psychischer weltweiter Plage = Prozess!! Wer kennt diese Erinnerungen nicht!! Die leider es gibt zu viele Kinder, die diese schreckliche Herrlichkeit durch machen muessen. 😦 >> All diese Erinnerungsgeschichten die taeglich all Gegenwaertig sind und uns begleiten durch das herrliche Leben, bis der letzten Atemzug getan ist.

    :):) 🙂 🙂 :)Mit einer sehr guten freien Kindheit in der ruhigen Natur zu sein, im tiefen Wald Baumhaeuser zu bauen und in den Ferienzeiten mit Freunden drinnen zu wohnen und Geschichten auszudenken (so lange es kein Regen gegeben hat), in gruenen Wiesen herum zu tobben, im Blumenfeld im Fruehjahr zu sitzen, den Duft zu geniessen und vor lauter Sonnenschein aus Froehlichkeit ein Liedchen zu singen und nur darin gluecklich zu sein, die kraeftigen Berge zu fuehlen, die frische Luft zu atmen und die vielen verschiedenen Tiere am Bauernhof zu pflegen, zu spielen und aufzuwachsen.

    **Das ist doch absolute BIO-Qualitaet und ein Traum fuer jedes einzelene Kind von uns!!:):) 🙂 🙂 🙂

    😦 Bis auf eines Tages passierte etwas, man kann es nicht richtig mit Worten zusammenfassen, das fuehlt sich an wie ein Lebenslanger unvertaulicher im „Solar-Plexus Bereich und Wurzelbereich“ es ist geschehen zwischen 3. oder 4. Lebensjahr. 😦 Es sind viele Wunden, die da geschlagen wurden in den Kindertagen. Wie konnte sich so ein kleines Mädchen wehren, gegen so eine schreckliche Männer-Gewalt. Diese krankhaften Fantasien!! Dieses liebevolle Maedchen so zu verletzten!! 😦

    !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Tausendmal ist es unmöglich!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Das Kind von 3-4 Jahren, wäre fast daran zerbrochen …

    Vieles hat weh getan, aber nur die starken Seelen haben alles sehr gut durch gestanden und vieles hinter sich gebracht, um doch noch eine zufriedene, glückliche und liebevolle Seele zu werden in diesen jetzigen Leben. Wie groß und stark muss diese Kinder-Seele dieses liebevollen Maechen gewesen sein, um das alles Überwunden zu haben… Loslassen der inneren alten Qualen… Die Zeit heilt alles aus!!

    Es lebe nur die wahre liebevolle Seelenfütterung mit so viel ehrlichen Liebe… Sie findet in jeden Moment in der Realität statt… Ich kann es fühlen… Es fühlt sich großartig ._____)

    PS: Eine unglaubliche wahre Geschichte dieses liebevollen Maechen und nur um dich im Herzen zu beruhigen, es gibt zu viele Leidgenossen, die jeder auf seine eigene Weise erlebt hat, in dieser iridischen Erde. (Danke treue Seele, für die geschätzte Aufmerksamkeit). LG Wien

  8. Nice to read about and so very sad you that had to go through all that as a child.

    How are you now? Did you ever get my email from last week?

    Love, Linda D.

  9. I’m going to share this with a friend whose Dad was also very violent and sexually abusive. She’s in her 60’s and still not over it, and allows this “story” to define her. So glad you aren’t allowing your past define you as you could have in the negative sense — instead you are suing your past as fuel to ignite your life to greater levels.

    Linda D. xo

  10. Great sharing Maria, I also was an immigrant teenager in Australia in the late 60´s and 70´s. I finally left Australia after 38 years (a slow burning hell) and my heart is now back in Portugal where it belongs. Love Zé

  11. Just what I needed to read at just the right time!!! Thank you for your gift of sharing of your own experiences so that the rest of us do not feel alone! Blessings to you and your family!

  12. Perfect timing – a reflection of my own journey in many ways – keep writing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

