Posted by: ButterflyMoms | March 22, 2013

I Cannot Believe Our Beautiful Friend AIDA BUGGE Died!


Aida and her “boys”

PLEASE NOTE: If anyone knows the names of anyone in any of these photos or have your own photos to add please let me know and I will include… This is my tribute to our beautiful beloved friend… the magnificent Aida Bugge!

Hello Beautiful ButterflyMoms,

I write this week’s blog with a heavy heart, caught between a world of two teachings and struggling to find peace. I wish I were not struggling but it feels like I’m emotionally wrapped in a straight-jacket that I’m wrestling to get off. Forty-eight hours ago, I was strolling in the park with my beautiful little girls on a beautiful sunny day when I suddenly got a call that literally dropped me to my knees. Our friend Fiona called saying that our beautiful friend Aida Bugge had died…. “Wait! Aida WHO died?” I yelled into my cell phone hoping it was not who I thought it was.

STUNNING BEAUTY FROM THE INSIDE OUT!

STUNNING BEAUTY FROM THE INSIDE OUT!

The only Aida I knew was my dear friend who is MY AGE and I had just seen her the night before, just a few hours ago. “It could not be her,” my brain rationalized. “NOT AIDA BUGGE! NO! NOOO! NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! NOT THE AIDA WHO ADORED HER BEAUTIFUL SONS! NOT THE AIDA WHO WAS MADLY IN LOVE WITH HER HUSBAND AND HE WITH HER! NOT THE AIDA WITH THE WONDERFUL HEART! NOT OUR BEAUTIFUL FRIEND AIDA!” I cried, crumpled on the ground while people walked by trying not to stare. She died suddenly of a heart attack just before a yoga class.

This whole year in Portugal has been a life-altering experience. I somehow knew that when I accepted this gift that there was some mystical quality about it. I “knew” that I would stretch spiritually, which I can tell you living right across from the ocean and seeing it EVERY day is a simple, simple way to do that! The beauty just rides up to meet me each time I look out at the water and I find myself instinctually taking a deep breath. I cannot help it. It’s the way we humans are built. We are energetically restored when we connect to nature.

We are taught that death is bad so we’ve learned to play these games to distract ourselves from the truth. Sometimes I think if we psychologically build up our “busy” list enough so we won’t remember that we all have an end date, that no one knows. We know our birth day but have zero idea about our death day. When I talk about this in my workshops it really messes with people because it’s not something most of us want to talk about.

Aida's painting - Very happy to be painting again. Taking part in a joint exhibition with the Create Portugal group in the Santarem library, opening Friday 21 September, 6pm. Here's a sneak preview.

Aida’s painting – She wrote, “Very happy to be painting again. Taking part in a joint exhibition with the Create Portugal group in the Santarem library, opening Friday 21 September, 6pm. Here’s a sneak preview.”

When death rides into our lives like it did for our beautiful Aida just a few hours ago we cannot wrap our brains around it! It’s like we are short-circuiting. I’ve found the best way to handle this is feel what you feel. Hiding the feelings is not recommend AT ALL because it prolongs the grieving process and one ultimately forgets about the person’s essence. Aida does not want us to be upset. She LOVES us! Aida wants to see us really, happy and my hope is that this blog helps people with that shift. This is my gift to Aida… and you!

Our Last Good-Bye…

Again from one of my previous blogs when a bunch of friends went to serve at a homeless food center...My beautiful friend Aida! LOVE HER! What a beautiful soul!

Again from one of my previous blogs when a bunch of friends went to serve at a homeless food center…My beautiful friend Aida and me heart to heart! LOVE HER! What a beautiful soul!

We have a “FEED YOUR SOUL” kind of women’s group that I inherited when I rented my friends apartment here in Portugal. The women who come bowl me over with their level of love, wisdom, friendship and kindness. I’ve learned some of my most important love and life lessons from the magnificent women in this group. It is always held at my flat so I’m the one who hosts. I found out about a scheduling conflict so I had emailed the group to see if we could change from the Tuesday to Wednesday. Well, as often happens over email with a group this size chaos rained supreme. It got too complicated and confusing so we changed it back to the original day of Tuesday. It was the last time we would all see Aida alive. In hindsight we see so much MAGIC from that evening, especially the things we spoke about.

Watching a rubgy game with friends. Thank you Danielle Vilar for this wonderful photo!

Watching a rubgy game with friends. Thank you Danielle Vilar for this wonderful photo!

When it was time to go I did something I never do and did not do to anyone else I said goodbye to her twice. When I said goodbye a second time she asked me why I was doing that. I unknowingly responded, “I just wanted to say goodbye and tell you I love you.”

Caipirinha

Caipirinha

When I got back to house with the news that she had died, our beautiful cleaning lady, Rosa, had been cleaning out the kitchen cabinets and while I was standing in the exact spot that Aida and I had been the night before, Rosa asked me what I wanted to do with the Capirinha mix she had found. Out of all the things in the cabinet that she had pulled out it was the only thing she brought to my attention. I stopped dead in my tracks. At the end of the prior evening Aida talked about getting together at one of the secret places she and our friend Eileen had shown me when Doug and my mom were here. I had the yummy caipirinha drink there with Aida. She said we should share a caipirinha again before I move back to the States in a few months to celebrate our friendship. In that instant when our cleaning lady asked me about the caipirinha packets I “knew” that was Aida reaching out to me! I closed my eyes, touched my heart and smiled.

From another earlier blog... This is the power of what a group of friends can do to end hunger. We did not solve the problem this night but we lived in love the entire evening by filling bellies and hearts! :)!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! We HIGHLY recommend it! :)

From another earlier blog with kids from St. Julian’s and St. Dominic’s International Schools… This is the power of what a group of friends can do to end hunger. We did not solve the problem this night but we lived in love the entire evening by filling bellies and hearts! :)!!!!! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! We HIGHLY recommend it! 🙂

A LITTLE ABOUT OUR BEAUTIFUL AIDA…

Aida did not look to be the center of attention but her PRESENCE was ALWAYS felt because it was so real, magical and deep. She was very self-deprecating and a shifter of attention from herself to others. Aida’s beautiful husband Axel called us “sisters” because we both left Portugal when we were three years old (her to England and me to the US) and then moved back. I always loved that he called us sisters! She lived in places like Norway, Brasil, England and Portugal. She was multilingual, smart and absolutely beautiful!

Aida from her days living in Brasil

Aida from her days living in Brasil

When you looked at Aida’s art you realize the depth of her soul. Her work is absolutely breath-giving! It’s the kind of painting that you would love more and more over time. She and I would sit in cafes and talk about the books we were writing. She was working on several children’s books. It breaks my heart that they may never be published. I hope that someone does because she talked about her art and books with so much love.

Photo contributed by Aida's beloved mother-in-law, Anne.

Photo contributed by Aida’s mother-in-law, Anne.

Perhaps her best art work were her two beautiful boys who are in their teens. She ADORES those boys! Aida often got very sad thinking about how quickly they had grown up and lamenting how much she’d miss them when they went to college. NEVER did we imagine that she would go first! Everything our beautiful Aida did was a work of art! EVERYTHING! Even the gift of her friendship with each person was a gift of art because she was completely present and authentic in her connection with each of us. Aida leaves a long line of heart friends who will miss her deeply!

Great big hugs,
Mariaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

🙂

Aida from CatherinePS For those who want a new perspective on death, here is an audio link to Abraham Hicks who has a wonderful shift on the subject. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QyGv-7kKnZs

WHAT ELSE IS GOING ON? MORE WAYS TO FEED YOUR SOUL TO START 2013 OFF ON THE RIGHT FOOT!… 

√  COACHING: For those who want a coach with a lot of heart, I’m here to help you get rid of your blocks and go towards your goal. I’m living what I have been teaching clients for nearly two decades. Whether you are curious or serious send me an email to maria@butterflymoms.com to set up a time to get you to your first step. For those who want something to shift in their lives this is a great time!!!

Climbing glacier with her family in Kjenndalsbreen, Norway

Climbing glacier with her family in Kjenndalsbreen, Norway

√  INTERVIEW: Here is the magnificent ButteflyMoms interview on Nancy L. Cantor‘s Dream Factory Television Show… I hope you watch it and that it feeds your soul! ! http://vimeo.com/30095902

√ BOOKS FOR SALE: “Mom Entrepreneur Extraordinaire” See list below for all the places in the world where this book has been sold! Last year I co-authored the book ENTREPRENEUR MOM EXTRAORDINAIRE. If you have been thinking about starting a business or want to take your business to the next level this is a wonderful way to start. WAY cheaper than going back to school…and very helpful! To feed the soul of a friend, buy them a copy by CLICKING HERE NOW… http://bit.ly/gRxe4U.  Feel part of the magic below and see where in the world people have bought this book…

Eileen's 50th 005 with Jennifer and Mary

Eileen’s 50th with Jennifer and Mary

CALIFORNIA
Anaheim 1
Fullerton 1
Sacramento 1
San Bruno 1

CONNECTICUT
Cromwell 1
Greenwich 1
Yalesville 1

FLORIDA
Fort Lauderdale 1

Seminole 1

Photo contributed by Axel's beautiful mom whom Aida adored... "This is a wonderful photo of them both in their pajamas on boxing day morning! Aida helping Axel as always!"

Photo contributed by Axel’s beautiful mom whom Aida adored… “This is a wonderful photo of them both in their pajamas on boxing day morning! Aida helping Axel as always!”

GEORGIA
Roswell 1

ILLINOIS

Lake Forrest 1

KENTUCKY
Louisville 1

MAINE
Biddeford 1

MARYLAND
Chestertown 1

Aida and Inês Carvalho

Aida and her sistah-friend Inês Carvalho.  She was incredibly helpful in helping set up all the details of the funeral. Her love and heart-ache were palpable. Another example of the love that Aida attracted around her!

MASSACHUSETTS
Ashland 3
Blackstone 2
Bolton 1
Canton 1
Framingham 1
Holliston 17
Hudson 4
Medway 8

Daniel, aged 5 painted by Aida

Daniel, aged 5 painted by Aida

Millis 1
Millbury 4
New Bedford 1
North Easton 1
Rutland 1
Sherborn 1
South Grafton 1
Watertown 1
Westborough 1
Wrentham 1
Worcester 3

MISSOURI
Lee’s Summit 1

NEW HAMPSHIRE
Laconia 1

NEW YORK
Scarsdale 1
Stony Brook 1

OHIO
Dublin 1

More of her beautiful friends!

More of her beautiful friends! Aida is that hot witch on the left! She was a woman of many talents! 😉 Some of the people here are Danielle, Catherine, Eileen, Mary, Aida, Jennifer… Who else?

RHODE ISLAND
Bristol 1

Newport 1

VERMONT
Waitsville (Mad River Valley) 2

 

BOOKS SOLD OUTSIDE UNITED STATES

AUSTRIA
Wien 2

IRELAND
Dublin, Ireland 1

ITALY
Rome, Italy 3

I had used this photo in an earlier blog and written this below it...On my list is to spend more time with the people who make my heart sing and feed my soul! :)

I had used this photo in an earlier blog and written this below it…On my list is to spend more time with the people who make my heart sing and feed my soul! This is in the magical House of Wonder in Cascais, Portugal 🙂 Aida was friends with the owner, of course she was!

JAPAN
Tokyo  1

PORTUGAL 
Carcavelos 1

Lisboa 11

Ovar 1

Sintra 1

Santa Maria (Azores/Açores)  1

SCOTLAND
Greenock 1

SPAIN
Madrid 1
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * **To buy your copy Click now… http://bit.ly/gRxe4U

 

First Glorious ButterflyMoms Workshop in Europe!!! Amazing Heart Women Attended!!!... including beautiful Aida!

First Glorious ButterflyMoms Workshop in Europe!!! Amazing Heart Women Attended!!!… including beautiful Aida!

WHAT IS BUTTERFLYMOMS?
ButterflyMoms is a community of people who realize they are souls first and human being second. They want to explore more about themselves, to find out what makes them happy and how they can lead a life of purpose. It is simply about FEEDING YOUR SOUL. Although it has the name “MOMS” in the title it is more about being nurturing to your own transformation, as the butterfly is to its own metamorphosis. This community is led by Maria Salomão-Schmidt whose transformation was ignited by the birth and death of her BELOVED thirteen month old daughter Sophia (Sophalicious), the original butterfly.

*Every Friday Morning, as a way of honoring her daughter Sophia’s soul, Maria writes the weekly BUTTERFLYMOMS BLOG. Hundreds of people read it every week to feed their souls. Maria started writing the blog in May 2009 and has written EVERY Friday since. Maria is a Reiki master and every time you read it you are showered with healing love.  Tell your friends… https://butterflymoms.wordpress.com and spread the love!!! FEED YOUR SOUL!!!!!

BELOW ARE MORE PHOTOS OF OUR BEAUTIFUL AIDA’S LIFE… THEY ARE IN THREE CATEGORIES: FAMILY (especially her boys whom she adored with all her heart!), FRIENDS and  finally, HER MAGNIFICENT ART! I apologize that I could not separate them but it is the way it is… If anyone knows the names of anyone in any of these photos or have your own photos to add please let me know and I will include… This is my tribute to our beautiful beloved friend… the magnificent Aida Bugge!

One of the boys while in Norway

One of the boys while in Norway

Beautiful portrait of Lucas

Beautiful portrait of Lucas

Views in Norway

Views in Norway

The whole family glacier climbing in Norway

The whole family glacier climbing in Norway

Apple when he was a puppy with Lucas

Apple when he was a puppy with Lucas

Apple with Daniel

Apple with Daniel

Playing with friends, beach culture!

Playing with friends, beach culture!

Lucas playing in Portugal

Lucas playing in Portugal

Aida and Axel and friends with Heather Shiell. If anyone knows the names of anyone in any of these photos or have your own photos to add please let me know and I will include.

Aida and Axel and friends with Heather Shiell, Ineke Overdijk, Susan Stolk and her husband.

Aida with Erika Vlug, Ineke Overdijk and friends.

Beautiful Aida in Ineke Overdijk’s kitchen with Margot Walker, Linda Braz and Erika Vlug.

Ineke Overdijk

Daniel in Norway

Daniel in Norway

At her dear friend Liete Couto Quintal's art exhibition with Axel and heart friends!

At her dear friend Liete Couto Quintal’s art exhibition with Axel and heart friends!

Lucas and Daniel off to Maffy's wedding 2008

Lucas and Daniel off to Maffy’s wedding 2008

Lucas Aged 9

Lucas Aged 9

Love this one!

Love this one!

Her boys in Brasil 2002

Her boys in Brasil 2002

Aida - Splash!

This one is HUGE in size and was placed next to her coffin in the church. Although I love the art in the church, this painting was by far the MOST BEAUTIFUL there!

This one is HUGE in size and was placed next to her coffin in the church. Although I love the art in the church, this painting was by far the MOST BEAUTIFUL there!

Simple and Beautiful

Simple and Beautiful

Because she lived in Brasil some of her reflects this part of her love that she adored...

Because she lived in Brasil some of her reflects this part of her love that she adored…

Frida + Aida = Fraida... Amazing that is looks like both!

Frida + Aida = Fraida… Amazing that is looks like both!

Climbing glacier with her family in Kjenndalsbreen, Norway

Climbing glacier with her family in Kjenndalsbreen, Norway

Aida With her boys in Norway Christmas 2012 - their last one together! She had a blast with her boys and Axel!!!

Aida With her boys in Norway Christmas 2012 – their last one together! She had a blast with her boys and Axel!!!

Aida's painting - Very happy to be painting again. Taking part in a joint exhibition with the Create Portugal group in the Santarem library, opening Friday 21 September, 6pm. Here's a sneak preview.

Aida’s painting

Eileen's 50th 001 Aida and Mary

Aida, Mary, Eileen

Aida is the third one on the left with some of her MANY heart friends!

Aida is the third one on the left with some of her MANY heart friends!

Aida and the ladies 2

Mary, Janet, Aida, Catherine, Eileen, Fiona, Catherine, Rita… who else is in this photo? Anyone know?

Aida - Portrait of a young man

Aida – Portrait of a young man

Aida - painting from when she lived in Brasil

Aida – painting from when she lived in Brasil

 


Responses

  1. Wow. So beautifully written. Thanks for sharing. I’m still at a loss. She was such a kind and wonderful soul. It was an honor meeting her.

  2. Honey, I’m so sorry for your loss. Beautiful tribute to Aida, may she take joy in the light and rest in peace.

  3. She sounds like a beautiful person. How amazing that you got to meet her. Some things in life are meant to happen. Life is precious and short, live it fully and live it authentically. Sending you my love!

  4. Thank you for that – It was impossible not to love Aida if you knew her…I miss her so much already.

  5. A beautiful testimony to a lost friend, and a reminder to us all that nothing but the present moment is guaranteed.

  6. Beautifully written. So sorry to read about the loss of your friend. Cherish the memories you have of her. Life is gift.

  7. I was lucky to meet her last December.
    We talked a lot about our families and
    our Portugal. It was impossible not to love her.
    What a great Soul!!

    Mariaaaaaaaa’s Mama
    🙂

  8. My dear Maria…I am sorry for the loss of your dear friend, it must be devastating for all those who knew and loved her. What an amazing person she must have been, and what a connection you must have had….you’re lives were similar in many ways. How lucky for you two to have met and become friends….how sad that she left so soon. You are sooo right…you can see her soul in her art work. And it is a beautiful one.
    As you process your grief remember, those who move on from this world to the next, never truly leave us. There will be days when her presence is so real you will reach out to touch her, sad that her physical being is gone and you cant, but happy in knowing she’s checking in to let you know she’s alright.
    But you know all that already…..my love to you and all who cherished this wonderful soul.xoxoxo

  9. she would be proud to read this

  10. Dear Maria, I hope to someday meet you. You have done such a wonderful job of hosting and loving the women’s group in Portugal. I met Aida when I returned to Portugal in 2010, after we had been away for a year, and I felt her beautiful loving presence immediately. Thank you for writing this beautiful tribute to her. It helps me to know her more, and celebrates her life and soul. Much love to all of you in that beautiful group of women.

  11. She looks and sounds like a beautiful person. How amazing and lucky that you both got to meet each other. Some things in life are meant to happen but we never really understand why or when they happen. My heart is heavy with yet the world losing another beautiful soul ! These are the kind of things that remind all of us how short life is..My mother use to say that we are here only paying rent and only god knows when it over….I miss you my friend !

  12. I’m very sad and sorry to hear about the loss of your great friend. She is beautiful and inspiring. I’ve never met Aida, but now feel like I have. Thank you for letting her touch my life.

  13. Sweet Maria,
    Such a beautiful tribute to your dear Friend Aida! Thank you for “showing” us, through your words , her beautiful soul, her passion for life!
    Your friend lives on in your heart, your mind, and your soul. Take comfort in the sweet memories of times you shared together.
    Sending you much love!

  14. I have just come across your blog after hearing the sad news this morning from friends of Aida suddenly leaving us. I am in total shock and still finding it hard to believe. We were school friends back in the UK when we had to got to Portuguese lessons. She was the first friend I made there and we became good friends after that. I was lucky to have Aida in my life, such a wonderful person with a wondeful family. We had communicated about getting together as we both moved back to Portugal, but alas life committments did not allow it. Today is a very sad day in my life but Aida will always live on in my memories with her huge smile and of remembering Aida as being Aida. Rest in Peace, you will never be forgotten.

  15. You have created a beautiful tribute to your friend. Be well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

